Bits and Pieces in February - February 1 – 13, 2021 @goldenoakfarm

in #homesteading3 years ago (edited)

Front door open in night crop Feb. 2021.jpg

My husband died here at home. Ever since, there have been odd little happenings. One of them was I came downstairs at 4:30 AM on February 2nd and found this door open. It obviously had been open for a while because the cat had made multiple forays to the top step. But there was 8” of snow on it so she didn’t venture farther. Just as well as she is blind, deaf, has dementia, and arthritis.

But weirder still was the house was nowhere near as cold as it ought to have been, given the wind and storm outside. Plus I distinctly remember clicking the door shut the evening before when I went out to speak to the plowman who had made the first pass on the driveway. I didn’t lock it but I know I clicked it shut, as it does blow open if it doesn’t click.

Then just after I got the books put away in the upstairs bedroom, I went up to pull the shades and one from the top shelf is on the floor…

There have been more things but it does make one wonder….

Doing wood  DavidR, Corky1 crop Feb. 2021.jpg

My oldest and youngest brothers came one Sunday to get some wood in the woodshed. We had what we thought would be enough, but had not counted on not having the masonry heater cured until Christmas, having to heat the house really warm when my husband was here, and also having the parts that weren’t to be heated not closed off. I’ve gone through a huge amount of wood this year, and I’ve still got 2 months to go.

Doing wood  DavidR, Corky, Jeremiah2 crop Feb. 2021.jpg

They came back a couple weeks later and brought my middle brother’s youngest son with them. The truck had died during a previous snow storm and was in the shop. They had to get the tractor running, get chains on it, plow out an area to work in and use the tractor to move the wood. But they got a good amount into the shed each time.

![Philodendron, ponytail, pineapple in window crop Feb. 2021.jpg](


The plants in the exercise area: philodendron (hanging), ponytail on left, and pineapple

Snowy view crop Feb. 2021.jpg

I was sitting and reading in the reading nook and watching the snow storm outside. This was the view.

Snowy yard crop Feb. 2021.jpg


Snowy yard

Snowing by woodshed crop Feb. 2021.jpg


Snow coming down by the woodshed

Snowy view out dining room window crop Feb. 2021.jpg


Snowy view out the dining room window

Dining room view2 crop Feb. 2021.jpg

Some day the extensions will be stained and a window sill put on. There will be house plants on the window sill.

Dining room view crop Feb. 2021.jpg


The dining room window

Clivia2 flowering crop Feb. 2021.jpg

The clivia from the cellar did perk up in the south window. It has now started a second flower stalk off the left side.

Clivia1 flowering crop Feb. 2021.jpg

The clivia from the upstairs office had started to flower so I brought it down and put it in this south window. All the clivias had been in the south window of the old dining room, on the windowseat. The windowseat will again be under the round top window, but it’s a low priority right now. So I am making due.

Bryde by fire crop Feb. 2021.jpg

When she’s not claiming the couch, the old cat likes to lie in front of the stove in the office. I put her catnip bed there.

Flowers from Joanne W crop Feb. 2021.jpg

With Valentine’s Day coming, I had planned to get myself some flowers. But my husband’s cousin did a bit of shopping for me and she arrived with this big bouquet of flowers. They are just gorgeous!

Kitchen  family photo wall finished crop Feb. 2021.jpg

This is the family photo wall currently. I have one or 2 more to add, but haven’t found photos yet. They will all come down in a week or so, as the new carpenter plans to wallpaper the kitchen, as soon as he gets his other projects done.

The battle with all the paperwork continues unabated. Someday I will be able to use that counter for projects….

Sort:  

The clivias are lovely. And the set up on the south window is just perfect. So tranquil and beautiful. I told my wife about your husband and being Catholics, we would like to offer a mass for him. If you won't mind (as I do not know your religious background) I would like to ask for his full name so we can enter him in the mass offering. I will understand, though, if you say no. We will respect your feelings about it.

Stay safe and we will be praying for you.

That's a really lovely thought and I thank you for it. But I don't think it would align with what he wanted. I'm glad you enjoyed the photos. :))

Hello lovely lady! :D

So sorry to hear about your husband's passing, please accept our condolences and prayers. :D

God bless, comfort and strengthen you. :D Amen. :D