Farm Doings - August 4, 2020 @goldenoakfarm

Construction  bedroom estored crop August 2020.jpg

Due to the tropical storm, the only construction work was restoring this room to use. My husband put the insulation and plastic back up and then cleaned out the tools and debris. My helper friend vacuumed up the mess and my son went over the woodwork with the brush attachment to remove the sheetrock dust and insulation. This is as good as it will get for a very long time.

Toothache plant crop August 2020.jpg

I zipped out between showers and harvested this toothache plant for this year’s use. It will be dehydrated.

Bee balm crop August 2020.jpg

Then I cut some beebalm and deadheaded the plants.

Plantain  rest of buggy stuff crop August 2020.jpg

I finished cutting away all the buggy leaves on the plantain. These 3 will be loaded into the dehydrators.

Cuke harvest on Tuesday crop August 2020.jpg

I’d sent my helper friend out to clean out the cukes. The usable ones he would take, the old ones went to the hens.

Sugar pod harvest crop August 2020.jpg

I looked out to see what was taking him so long, and found him harvesting sugar pod peas. I’d not wanted another project as I’d planned to get all the house plants watered and pay bills while he did other inside stuff. But we got 3 more meals of peas in the freezer before I could get back to what I planned to do.

He put a chicken in the crockpot for supper and then, as I said, cleaned up the bedroom. I never did finish the bills….

Wednesday is to be a nice day, and I hope to get some work done in the gardens.