Finding the Edges - August 5, 2020 @goldenoakfarm

South Herb crop August 2020.jpg


South Herb

Wednesday I got out there and started finding the edges of gardens. The weeds had gotten so bad that when my son mows he was leaving bigger and bigger swathes of weeds around them.

This post will also serve as a garden update for the flowerbeds.

East Shed crop August 2020.jpg


East Shed

I didn’t have time to do a proper weeding, that would have taken days. I just pulled out the worst of it along the edging, on both sides.

Old North crop August 2020.jpg


Old North

I did the gardens in sun or soon to be in sun first.

North Corner crop August 2020.jpg


North Corner

I spent a little more time on this garden as the gutter guys are coming on Thursday morning. There are stepping stones and if they needed to get in there, at least they could see the plants.

New North crop August 2020.jpg


New North

Sometimes I’d grab handfuls of stuff, as in this garden, huge coltsfoot plants that had taken over.

West garden crop August 2020.jpg


West garden

This garden was a huge mass of wood sorrel and goldenrod.

West Herb crop August 2020.jpg


West Herb

This garden had a lot of tall plants (tansy, catmint, mallow, comfrey) that needed to be tied up so he could mow the edges.

West Shed crop August 2020.jpg


West Shed

We stored the stone for the walkways behind the shed. My son took the weedwacker and cleaned it out as the stone masons will hopefully be starting soon.

Woodpile1 crop August 2020.jpg

Then he knocked back all the wild blackberries from around the woodpiles.

Woodpile2 crop August 2020.jpg

Small garden edges1 crop August 2020.jpg


Small garden and Anne raspberry patch

Then he did around the vegetable gardens.

Small garden edges2 crop August 2020.jpg


Small garden and compost bins

Hibiscus crop August 2020.jpg


Hibiscus, Big rose, and mountain laurel by Small garden

Big garden  north crop August 2020.jpg


Big garden, north side with Jerusalem artichokes

Big garden  east crop August 2020.jpg


Big garden, east side with rhubarb and comfrey

My son didn’t end up mowing, just weedwacking. I hope he gets the mowing done on Thursday!

My helper friend will be here on Thursday and it’s to be a nice day, so we will try to finish the Big garden’s mulching. I’ll go over it again for weeds also. Then the plan is to start getting the weeds out of the little trees’ cages.

Sort:  

I feel this post viscerally. After several years of selective weeding, most of my weeds now are things we use for food or medicine, but they still require attention. It's a minor project every day, and a big project every weekend.

This year I began mulching around the edge of my fences with grass clippings. This made it a lot easier to keep things under control in this difficult area.