It’s Weeded! (Almost) - July 10, 2021 @goldenoakfarm

New Herb - Row 6, cleaned out crop July 2021.jpg

On Saturday morning I went out at 5:30AM to pick green peas and get soaked from dew. Next year, if I can remember, I’ll put the pea rows 2½’ apart. Then I went into the New Herb garden and started pulling weeds on the last half of Row 6. That row is ready to amend and plant and mulch now.

New Herb - Row 7, cleaned out1 crop July 2021.jpg

Because I work both sides of the walkway as I go, that meant I was cleaning out half of Row 7 also. It took me 1 hour to go 8’ down by the yarrow. Once I got past that things went more quickly.

New Herb - Row 7, cleaned out2 crop July 2021.jpg

I finally worked my way around to the other side of Row 7 but had to do the walkway too. My sleds of weeds were all overflowing and I didn’t want to bring them back for another filling. So I didn’t finish the area down by the yarrow on this side. I got the worst of the weeds, but there’s more to do down that end.

It was 10AM, starting to get pretty humid, so I cleaned up and quit for the day.

2nd Fence - 1st balloonflower crop July 2021.jpg


2nd Fence garden – first balloonflower

4th Fence - phlox crop July 2021.jpg


4th Fence garden - phlox

South - allyssum crop July 2021.jpg


South garden - allyssum

The last 2 were favorites of my husband. The phlox comes back each year, and the alyssum reseeds and I let it grow.

Processing green peas crop July 2021.jpg

After a shower, I sat on the couch and watched more Doc Martin while I shelled the big bowl of peas. I ended up with 2 more pints for the freezer.

Sunday is to be cool in the morning. I hope to get out to the New Herb garden and get at least Row 6 amended, planted and mulched. I still have to finish the yarrow area on Row 7 too. I may get farther and at least get Row 7 amended. We’ll see.

I can’t get too tired as I have Tom’s birthday party to go to in the afternoon.

Sort:  

Congratulations @goldenoakfarm! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!