Last of Gardening for Awhile - March 12, 2021 @goldenoakfarm

1st Fence - planting bulbs crop March 2021.jpg

It was 55F outside at 8AM on Friday morning, so I got out there and got started on the gardens. This area of the 1st Fence garden had been ruined during construction. It also had a lot of erosion from the gardens around the porch washed into it.

So I first set about removing the extra soil and putting it back in the gardens where it belonged. Then I cleaned out a small amount of the garden, as that had not been done last year.

I got some more daffodils from the last pot of them in the Big garden and filled the holes in this area.

New South - 1-3 cleared crop March 2021.jpg

I decided that making a new garden would use up more bulbs than clearing old gardens and filling in holes of bulbs that had died. So I started working on the New South garden.

The promised wind arrived around 9AM and while I had warm sun, the wind just wears me out. So when I had to go deal with the splitter/truck issue just after 11AM, I quit outside. I was just too sore and tired from a week in the gardens to work in the wind all afternoon.

The wind was bringing winter back to New England by Friday night. It’s to be cold and VERY windy on Saturday. There might be a day or 2 over the next 2 weeks I can work outside again, but mostly it’s to be cold and either raining or snowing.

My brother and 2 volunteers are coming on Saturday to split and move wood. I am planning on making a huge beef stroganoff for lunch and keeping the stoves going so they can warm up as needed.

Sort:  

Remind us how the beef stroganoff does. Sounds yummy.

It will be in today's post...

Hi goldenoakfarm,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiehive.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

It looks like you can move dirt anyway. My garden is still frozen, with about an inch of mud on top...

Yes the gardens around the house are thawed, farther away are still frozen.

Nice to be able to get out in the garden and you have some green shots coming up in yours! I love spring and seeing what made it through the winter. There is something about those fresh green sprouts that really excites me!