Making Summer Squash Relish - August 8, 2020 @goldenoakfarm

Thursday harvest crop August 2020.jpg

After finding this lot on Thursday, I decided to make a batch of squash relish for Christmas presents.

Summer Squash Relish recipe.jpg

I’d done a trial batch back in July using 3 different recipes. This is the combined recipes.

Summer squash relish  slicing squash crop August 2020.jpg

This recipe takes a long time to make as there are 2 long soaks. First slice the squash and set it to soak in salt water. I use gallon jars because they are non-reactive. I use ½ cup kosher salt per jar and filtered water.

Summer squash relish  chicken squash crop August 2020.jpg

I kept checking the seeds, to make sure I didn’t get hard ones in the slices. These all went to the hens. They were delighted!

Summer squash relish  onions and peppers crop August 2020.jpg

With the worst onion harvest I’ve ever had, I had no problem finding the small onions for the recipe in the garden. They also soak for 2 hours in salt water.

Summer squash relish  salt soak crop August 2020.jpg

While they were soaking in the salt for 2 hours, I wrote the Little Trees’ Progress post.

Summer squash relish  salt water bucket crop August 2020.jpg

We have a brand new, very expensive septic system, so I won’t be dumping salt water into it. It goes into this bucket and is dumped somewhere it won’t harm growing things.

Summer squash relish  rinsing salt off crop July 2020.jpg

Two rinses and drains later, I put the vegs into my largest stockpot.

Bread and Butter Pickles  ingredients crop July 2020.jpg

Then I make up the vinegar syrup from these ingredients. I had 4 batches of vegs (about 9½ lbs.) so I made 4X the recipe for the syrup.

Summer squash relish  vinegar syrup crop July 2020.jpg

Heat the syrup to boiling and pour it over the vegs.

Summer squash relish  vinegar syrup soak crop August 2020.jpg

I use things that won’t absorb the turmeric coloring to keep the vegs submerged for 2 hours. You don’t heat the squash; just let it absorb the syrup.

Summer squash relish  grinding for relish crop July 2020.jpg

Then using a slotted spoon I drained off the syrup and ran the vegs through a food grinder. I actually use my meat grinder as it is larger.

Summer squash relish  filling jars crop August 2020.jpg

I put the ground vegs into a stockpot and heated them just to boiling. I added back 1 cup of syrup per batch, so 4 cups were put in. I had already sterilized the jars and lids. I was using pints this time.

Summer squash relish  fill level crop August 2020.jpg

You fill the jars leaving ½” headspace. Then carefully wipe the rims and cap the jars.

Summer squash relish  canning kettle crop July 2020.jpg

Pints process for 10 minutes in a hot water bath. I used my biggest canner as it will hold 14 pints.

Summer squash relish  13 pints finished crop August 2020.jpg

Once taken from the canner, the jars must sit untouched or moved until completely cool. Then I check the seal, and label each one with name and date before storing them in the root cellar.

Finished product: 13 pints of relish. It has such a beautiful color! And the flavor! Oh, my!

I will make squares of pretty cloth to put under the rings for Christmas gifts.

Sort:  

This is a good tutorial post!
Making this is a bit of work, but then, isn't all the food preserving... 😀

Growing and preserving food IS a lot of work, but the payoff is you know what you are eating...

True enough.