No Beans - July 21, 2021 @goldenoakfarm

Beans - not a lot crop July 2021.jpg

On Wednesday when I was working in the Big garden, in one of my passes by the end of the row, I checked to see if the green beans needed picking. I saw the above at the end and decided I would pick the row to process on Thursday morning.

So on Thursday I got out there to pick. This is all I found. Not even enough for supper, though I did cook them up.

Thursday wasn’t a good day, from the non-bean picking on. All the way to the Registry of Motor Vehicles to change out my husband’s disabled veteran plate only to find out USAA had messed up the paperwork I’d waited 10 days for on snail mail because they would not e-mail it to me.

Finally got that sorted out (they did e-mail it this time!) but I think the constant weeks of clouds and rain have taken their toll. I have atypical SADS and it looks like it’s coming on in rare form due to lack of sunshine.

We’ve got 3 days of sun before the rain and clouds return on Sunday for at least the next week. I plan to be in the gardens each day, finishing the Big garden and hopefully starting the Small one. Once that’s done, I can start flowerbeds.

Another trip to the Registry Thursday afternoon, hopefully the chore will be done this time.

Sort:  

No sun in the middle of summer? Sounds more like our winter currently. We got one dry day with a bit of sunlight yesterday and now back to rain. You actually sound like you have British style summers. Are you in a northern state?

In hope the sun comes out a bit for you soon.

tenor (1).gif

As of July 19th, the month of July had 17 days of rain/clouds. So yeah, way atypical for this area and season.

Yes, that sounds just like England. A couple of weeks of actual summer, most years. Very conducive to SADS and I don't miss that.

So sorry for your hard times. I do understand the snail mail same here. I made my husbands truck payment and it took 2 weeks for them to get it.