Ready for Rain, Almost - April 10, 2021 @goldenoakfarm

Old North - finished crop April 2021.jpg

Saturday morning I picked up where I left off Friday afternoon. I had been about to transplant plants from behind the woodshed. There were 3 back there: sweet woodruff, Virginia bluebells, and variegated Solomon’s seal.

I put the sweet woodruff behind the pot of spiderwort. It tends to spread, and the pot will slow it down. I put the Virginia bluebells, which had been in a pot, into the ground behind the red trillium. I brought around a couple half wheelbarrows full of compost and after spreading the FlowerTone, I put down about ¾ of a wheelbarrow of compost. Then I mapped out the garden and was done.

North Corner - before crop April 2021.jpg

This is the North Corner garden and it has not been touched in 2 years. Its main problem is the anemone has overrun everywhere. The second problem is the lily of the valley had started to overrun also.

North Corner - cleaned out and topsoil crop April 2021.jpg

So I cleaned out the debris first. There was a lot of roofing debris too. Then I dug out all the roots of the anemone and lily of the valley. I found the euphorbia nearly in the lily of the valley that’s supposed to be there, so I transplanted it to the front of the garden. It’s the middle one of the line of 3 plants. I later moved the left side one of these plants to the hole in the bulb row, as it was a wood hyacinth. I’d found bulbs growing back in the ferns and transplanted them upfront also.

The primroses by the steps have hung on for dear life. I dug out all the anemones from them that I could without inflicting too much damage to the primroses’ roots.

Once I’d removed as much of the anemone as I could, I found a piece of edging and put it around the anemone bed, to attempt to contain it. I ran a piece along the steps to keep the anemones under the steps from getting to the primroses.

North Corner - compost crop April 2021.jpg

This garden has:
Up left wall, from bottom: wood hyacinth, Dutchman’s breeches, lily of the valley, lovage, marshmallow
Across front and up side of steps: 4 - 5 snowdrops, mystery bulb, wood hyacinth, snow glories, primroses, anemone
Up the center from bottom: euphorbia, wood hyacinth, ferns

Here’s a bit on the differences between snowdrops and snow glories or snowflakes as they are also known.

West - snowdrops4 crop March 2013.jpg

These are snow drops, Galanthus nivalis. They are one of the earliest to flower.

Leucojum_aestivum_'Gravetye_Giant'1.jpg


source

These are snow glories or snowflakes, Leucojum aestivum. They flower much later, when snowdrops are done.

“Snowdrops are not to be confused with Snowflakes - Leucojum. The Snowflake is a much taller growing bulb which normally has more than one flower per stem. Snowflake petals are even, each with a green spots on the end, whereas Snowdrops have helicopter-like propellers that are green only on the inner petals.”
source

Well, back to the garden….

Not a lot survived in this garden. I usually plant lobelia across the front, but that is an annual. It used to have Corydalis lutea in the back, Sweet William across the front in bushes, and the Dutchman’s breeches and euphorbia were large.

Now that it has been fed, more topsoil added and excellent compost, I’m hoping it comes back. I’m hoping to get more plants on Monday for some of these gardens.

I was too tired to map this garden on Saturday, so I hope to get it done before the rain starts on Sunday. I plan to draw new maps while it rains for the next 2 days.

New North - Solomon's seal, feverfew, dianthus, coltsfoot, heletrope crop April 2021.jpg

If you remember one of the plants behind the woodshed was a Solomon’s seal. I cleaned out the New North garden down to the hellebore and put the Solomon’s seal back where it had been before construction. It got some topsoil and a little compost too.

I found some feverfew and dianthus still alive here and that’s a yellow coltsfoot flowering beside the hellebore. There were 2 other plants in there that I wasn’t sure what they are, so I left them.

New North - Siberian squills2 crop April 2021.jpg


New North garden: Siberian squills

These are such an intense blue, sorry to keep posting photos of them, but I love the blue.

I also put FlowerTone down on the New East and Back Porch gardens on top of their compost. I put the FlowerTone down on the New South garden, the old South garden, the East of Porch garden and the 2 Steps gardens. It was pretty hot in the sun on that south side, so that was all I did there.

So I’m as ready for rain as I could manage.

Sort:  

Looking good, Ca see the vision starting to take shape

Hi goldenoakfarm,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiehive.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Looking good! You did a lot of work there! I would need a good massage after that! Waiting for rain too!

Hope it’ll rain very soon!

Congratulations @goldenoakfarm! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!