The Armoire Comes Home - October 12, 2021 @goldenoakfarm

Armoire in office crop Oct. 2021.jpg

In August of 2019 I was gifted this armoire on BuyNothing. It took 4 people and our truck to get it out of the house it was in and into our storage unit. I planned to use it on one wall of my new office, once it was built.

But plans changed last year and the wall would probably never be built. So I decided to put it where the bookcase had been. I spent months trying to organize 4 strong people to move it. But I just couldn’t get them here at once. So I bit the bullet and called a local moving company on Tuesday and had them move it.

I had legs for it and debated about putting them on while the movers were here to lift it. But I decided not to as I would not have to clean under it if it sat on the floor. I put protective pads under each corner instead.

It is built of solid wood, not MDF, and very sturdy. It had been in a children’s area and used for storage of their craft materials. It had marker, tape, crayon, and whatever on it and needed a good scrubbing. It obviously had been expensive and it had been painted with good quality paint. It stood up to the scrubbing very well and looks almost new.

Cleaning - 2-3 office done crop Oct. 2021.jpg

In preparation for the movers, I finished cleaning all of this ⅔ of the office, except the big bookcase. I got the stuff moved back from the area so they’d have plenty of room to maneuver.

It sure is good to have that project off my mind. Now I just have to load it up with all the stuff that’s been elsewhere.

Sort:  

Love a bargain - even better, if it's free! Bloody heavy that old furniture. But well worth the labour and effort to get it in place.