The First Forsythia! - April 6, 2021 @goldenoakfarm

Forsythia3 crop April 2021.jpg

I had intended to get out to the gardens early on Wednesday, as I had a 2 PM appt and couldn’t be out there in the afternoon. But I had to help with the cabinets and when that was finally done, there wasn’t enough time to get outside. So I stayed in, on a GORGEOUS day, and put the cabinets back in order.

After my appointment, I was looking at the gardens and saw that the first forsythia had opened while I was inside. That means it’s really spring!

Forsythia2 crop April 2021.jpg

I had seen small buds on Sunday when I mowed the wildflower area.

Forsythia4 crop April 2021.jpg

So I knew it would be soon that they would open.

Forsythia1 crop April 2021.jpg

It looks like it will be a good year for forsythias.

Magnolia crop April 2021.jpg

I lost a lot of buds on the magnolia when it was pruned in March. But what’s left is nearly ready to open and should this week with all the warm temperatures expected.

On Wednesday my intern is here and we will be cleaning out the ends of the shed, so I can plant more bulbs. If there’s time, we will plant some of the south loving plants too.

My helper comes on Wednesday afternoon and we will be taking down and storing the wire cages for the little trees.

Sort:  

Nice flowers! This kind of flowers was mentioned in traditional Chinese medicine which has been used to cure people who are infected by coronavirus. It’s quite well known among the educated Chinese in Peking.

I saw this cough medicine being available in America and some crypto guru has got some! I couldn’t find this one here as there was no importer. But there is another well known traditional Chinese medicine which has been recently imported by an old Chinese company. People in small circles would know that this medicine is supposed to boost the immune system and prevent people from being too easily infected. Privileged information for well informed circles of people!

Luckily, we have traditional local herbal capsules which have been tested in laboratory to effectively kill the coronavirus. Several patients have been cured by this only! But the result wasn’t made public for fear of reprisal from drug companies! It’s all about money and control!

so beautiful!! yay for spring!