Tuesday’s Harvest - July 21, 2020 @goldenoakfarm

Tuesday's harvest  cukes, zuchinni, summer squash, cherry tomatoes crop July 2020.jpg

On Tuesday morning I got the harvesting done first, early while it was cool. The summer squash is going crazy out there. There’s only 1 hill! I got another zucchini from the Big garden and at suppertime found 2 more in the New Herb garden.

One of the storage onions started to flower, so I pulled it up. And the cukes are really coming in.

Cukes in jars crop July 2020.jpg

I got enough for ½ recipe for Bread and Butter Pickles so I put the harvest in jars of water in the fridge. I can save them for several days this way until I have enough for a whole recipe.

Cherry tomatoes  1st harvest crop July 2020.jpg

The first harvest of tomatoes. These are a SunGold type and an experiment. I tested these on my husband (who likes cherry tomatoes) but while he liked them, he wasn’t super impressed.

Sugar pod peas crop July 2020.jpg

I got a good bowl of sugar pod peas. I got them picked over, but was too tired to process them for the freezer. I will do it first thing Wednesday morning.

South Herb  bellflower, heliopsis, wormwood crop July 2020, .jpg

All the flowerbeds are going wild, filled with weeds. This is the South Herb garden, l – r: bellflower, heliopsis, wormwood.

Wednesday I have appointments from late morning on. I hope to get the peas in the freezer. I need to find a recipe for pickling the summer squash. My helper friend doesn’t want so much, and I can only eat so much. Never had a hill produce do much squash!

Sort:  

Manually curated by ackhoo from the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Lovely harvest.... I love those peas - we call them sweet peas here, great for stir fried mixed veg dish or I use them in pastas too!

They are the only peas my husband will eat. When the gardens are back to full size, I will grow 2 sowings of these, and one of green peas for me.

Yummmm, I checked and see they have pretty flowers too!

Sungold are my go to cherry. They produce the earliest and for an extended period, at least in my garden.

Summer squash are monsters and can go from perfect to INSANE-HUGE-OMG-WHAT-DO-I-DO-WITH-IT within a day. Since there is no state fair this year I won't be letting one go for size but thankfully I have sales ability. Otherwise the sheep would be getting a nice load of it.

I found a recipe for bread and butter squash pickles. I will make it, grind it for relish and can it. That should take care of a LOT of them. :))

Payoff for hard work done is beginning to earn you dividends, by the bundle. Great harvest. As I was reading this post I suddenly wondered, how big is your refrigerator? But I read further down that you have freezers so I guess these are chest type ones that can store a lot.

I have 2 fridges, and 5 freezers: 4 huge chest freezers and 1 backup upright freezer. Yup, plenty of room to store a year or 2's worth of food....

I also have 10,000 Kw solar panels....