Too much Water in the Hen House

in #homesteading6 years ago

IMG_20180417_154313.jpg

A few weeks ago, we had a rain storm which dropped almost six inches of rain. It washed out our road and saturated the ground. Water running off the mountain flooded into the chicken run making two inches of mud for the chickens to walk in. It was time to make a drain in front of the coop to divert water.

It took me all week digging a trench and keeping the chickens out of the trench was a problem, but I got it done by Friday.

I wrapped landscape fabric around the perforated drain pipe to keep roots from growing inside the pipe.

IMG_20180423_131957.jpg

Then I covered the pipe with gravel

IMG_20180423_131915.jpg

IMG_20180423_134613.jpg

Hopefully, this will divert the major volume of water around the coop.

Have a great day! Every comment is up-voted to show our appreciation and thanks for your up-vote, Tim and Joann.

Sort:  

Ha! Chickens are hilarious. Ours ALWAYS go where we don't want them (like in my gardens, even when I have fence around it).

I now what you mean.

Excellent idea! Hopefully the chickens will not uncover it.

They are trying.

Good idea with the landscape fabric.