You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Milkweed Wreath That Teaches

So nice! I appreciate seeing those turkey feathers, knowing where they came from, especially. And the milkweed pods, too. If folks knew how good much good food milkweed can provide, when it's prepared properly, we might see more of it in every corner and niche that's suitable! Young stems, flowerbuds, new pods -- all so good! I ate them a lot when I lived in Michigan -- they were a common "weed" back then! Great foraging, @rebeccaryan, and good lessons, too.

And your line about the glue gun sounds like a great start to a mystery novel: "The glue gun. One temperature. Burning hot." ; )

Sort:  

Hi @haphazard-hstead! Good to hear from you. Thanks so much for your fantastic comment. I had no idea that you could eat young milkweed plant parts and that's a great addition to this post, which I greatly appreciate.
I can tell you that as a result of my Burning hot, glue gun experience, I was swearing a blue streak in both my country's officially languages. LOL!

Young milkweed shoots are among the best of the best of spring greens. Restaurant quality food! We all need more large patches of milkweed plants -- the Monarchs and all of us! : )