Winter cash crop!

Exploring another revenue stream as well as taking another step towards being self sustainable. We are doing a trial run at microgreens.

1118170805.jpg

1118170819.jpg

We left them stacked and covered for 3 days for them to sprout.

1122171250.jpg

1122171251.jpg

Then we unstacked them and left them covered for 1 more day.

1123170831_HDR.jpg

1123170831a_HDR.jpg

Our first test run we are experimenting with peas, wheatgrass, barley, black oil sunflower, radish, and collards. I will post the final results.

Sort:  

I'm keen on growing micro-greens. They have got us through the off-season.

I usually grow in a fine high nutrient compost. I find I can get 3 crops off one tray of compost before it runs out of nutrient.

Always good to have some fresh micro-greens on hand.

Thanks. Good information. I will probably end up doing that as well. For now I am using coco coir. After doing a lot of research, thats what a majority of people are using. Good moisture retention and less chance of contamination.

Do you ever have your compost tested? I know of someone who went to great lengths to make great compost for a year and had it tested. It tested possitive for listeria.

Good point, I've never had it tested. But I'm still here 😊

I’ve never seen this done before. What is the purpose of the burlap?

I have cocao coir as a medium. I was experimenting with the burlap over the coir to help retain moisture and keep the soil from getting on the stems to make cleaning and harvesting easier.