The "What does your forest taste like" Challenge: Rosehip Vinaigrette

in #homesteading6 years ago

Searching for the Perfect Ingredient for our Vinegar

Our family made our first home-made naturally flavored vinegar.

After reading the @mountainjewel post about finding flavors in nature, we began searching our backyard for flavors we could use to infuse in vinegar. It's still cold and wintery here, but we did manage to find a single flavor that would pair well with a mild vinegar.

Rose Hips

Some berries were better than others.

These Rose-Hips have been on the plant all winter long. Nice and dried.

My girls picked a few dozen rose hips from the bush.

Collected about 30 rose hip buds.

We cut the leaves off the tops, leaving the dried berries.

Selecting the Vinegar

We found a white vinegar that came in a beautiful bottle. It reminds me of a potion bottle. Seems like a perfect fit.

We figured the rose hips would look really nice in this bottle.

I took the label off the bottle. It required a lot of scrubbing to get the adhesive off.

The girls had fun putting all the dried rose hips into the vinegar bottle.

They used a chopstick to shove them down into the bottle.

I found a cork to put on the top to make it look nicer and to give it a good seal.

Some ofthe rose hips floated, while others sank. Our children learned about density.

It was fun making our first Rose hip Vinaigrette

The Rose Hips Essence Began Soaking into the Vinegar

We put the bottle away in a dark place and the next day, the vinegar began taking on a nice color. I think the infusion is working!

I like how the bottle magnifies the berries at the bottom of the bottle.

A close up of the rose hips in vinegar.

The top of the bottle. Still some floaters! I wonder if they'll sink eventually.

It was a Fun Experience

This was our first time making a flavored vinegar. I enjoyed picking out a flavor, finding the plant and following the steps with my children. They had a lot of fun making this too! Thank you @mountainjewel for this fun project. In a few weeks, we'll give this vinegar a try. I've never had rose hip infused vinegar before!

What is your favorite flavor of infused vinegar? Have you ever tried rose hip?

Steem on and have a great day!

ALL PHOTOS ARE ORIGINAL AND ONLY MAY BE USED WITH PERMISSION.

Benjamin Turner: God fearer. Rooted in Messiah. Husband of @lturner. Father of four wonderful children. The guy behind the camera. Steemit enthusiast.

Bless the Most High!

Sort:  

Hows the taste bro?

Find out in a few days. May do a follow up post. @ironshield

wow! this is awesome! love the fact that you included your girls in it and they learned other lessons while also learning about wildcrafting :) i'm just so happy you did it and i def think rosehips are a fantastic thing to make a vinegar with!! mmm all that Vit C!!!!! beautiful post and i think you definitely win for most awesome bottle award! haha thanks!

Thank you. I was really happy with that bottle. Also happy to find a good use for those rose hips. I was going to pick them while they were ripe, but I forgot and they dried on the plant. Now we can enjoy their flavor in a vinaigrette! Thanks for the challenge and the idea! @ironshield

thanks for your participation! you're a winner!

Woo hoo! Thank you so much! I'll do a follow up post when we try it for the first time. @ironshield

You are rosing your kids right. chuckles

Rosehips are a great source of vit c!
I use them in my elderberry syrup.

Id love to find some growing wild!

@corrielaine

My wife makes elderberry syrup also, but we have to buy the dried elderberries. That would be a fun post to make! @ironshield

I usually get dry elderberries in bulk from Frontier. But this past summer, an acquaintance of mine said that her father's property had tons growing wild. She picked and brought me about 3 gallons worth!

@corrielaine

a challenge that attracts friends ... but if you note the dried fruit is similar to the octopus tentacles ... lol

They look strange when they're magnified. @ironshield

This looks delicious! Great idea @ironshield :) How nice that you could turn this project into a family learning experience for the kids to enjoy!

There are lots of rose bushes on the homestead here so I look forward to using them this fall when the hips are ripe. I will have to remember your vinegar :)

My girls really enjoyed picking the buds and stuffing them into the bottle. I'm not sure how to do a follow up post to describe what it tastes like... video maybe? @ironshield

Beautiful bottle for holding the Vinaigrette.

Yeah, that was a good find! Thanks for coming by! @ironshield

I absolutely love this! I like the whole idea as well as your presentation. Going to try this with my kids, too. Thanks for sharing :)

You're welcome. Glad you enjoyed it! Fun and easy to do! @ironshield

So, have you tasted it yet? I wonder how the flavor is. What if you threw a couple rose petals in there, too? I am really going to try this. Do you know if the rosehips infuse the vinegar with vitamin c or other vitamins? Just curious.

Rose petals... good idea! We're letting it steep for a few weeks, so we won't really know it's flavor until then. I suppose we could have a little taste before then, but that'd sort of be like cheating. @ironshield

Such a pretty vinegar!!! And a great learning activity for the girls. I love the bottle!!!

Thank you! It was fun! @ironshield

Nice project to do with your kids! I can't say I've ever had any flavor infused vinegar. I'm not really a fan, but yours does look tasty! Glad it was a success. Do share how it tastes in the end!

Usually vinegars are garlic flavored. There are specialty shops around now that sell little infused vinegar bottles. They're pretty tasty. I'll be sure to share how it tastes in a few weeks. @ironshield

I used to use rose hips oil for many things. It works best at moisturizing and healing scars! I love it so much but honestly, I have no idea they look like this. That's actually very informative, thanks for sharing :)

You're welcome! I'm glad you enjoyed it and found it informative. I didn't know what rose hips looked like either until they appeared on our rose bush. I've seen it as an ingredient in herbal teas, that's about it. I wanted to use them for something, but I didn't know how... until the vinegar idea came along. @ironshield

thats so cool and I love how you use anything to be a learning experience for the kids :)

Thank you. Yes, I enjoy spending time with my children and teaching them. Their education began from birth. @ironshield

That;s such a great way to be :)

Very cool project for the family and I assume that later you will be using it as a dressing on salads?

Yes, probably as a salad dressing. I'll do a post in a few weeks once it's steeped well. I wonder what rose hip vinegar will taste like? I wanted to something special with the buds, I think this was a good idea. @ironshield

This post has received a 6.78 % upvote from @boomerang.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ironshield from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Loading...