My Homestead Workhorses on Wheels

in #homesteading3 years ago (edited)

I spend a lot of time hauling stuff around out here. Often I'm hauling new acquisitions from the front of the property to my place at the back. The driveway back to my house is only driveable during the driest parts of the year so purchases small or large are walked back. And if I can't carry it in my arms, it gets wheeled back here by push or by pull.

My three main workhorses (aside from my wheelbarrow) for hauling materials are an old flat cart, a small, dually wagon, and a surprisingly long-lived Radio Flyer.

img_0.355612086162169.jpg

For a few years the flat cart that came from my grandfather's workshop stayed by my house with a solar panel propped on it. It only moved when I occasionally turned it to better catch the sun. Now it comes in handy for moving larger items such as furniture and sheets of plywood that were once perched precariously on top the sides of one of the wagons.

The small dually wagon was a project constructed by my boyfriend and his father. What it lacks in size it makes up for in its ability to traverse our rough and often muddy landscape with ease. I really need to give it a fresh coat of paint.

Finally, the real star player of the trio. Given to my now 9 year old granddaughter when she was just one, that plastic Radio Flyer wagon with the wonky wheels has carried children, groceries, lumber, livestock feed, dead animal carcasses, dirt, rocks, and cardboard for years. At one point the kids used it to collect materials for composting.

It's been rolled over rough dirt roads and barely walkable muddy paths, through tall weeds and pulled behind a mower and a trike. We expected it to give out years ago from the abuse and overloading but it keeps on rolling. That is one tough little wagon.

Oftentimes my most used and useful tools are the most unlikely ones. Like that old plastic wagon. What are your most valued but unexpected homestead tools?

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been selected to be included in my weekly Sustainability Curation Digest for the Minnow Support Project.

Congratulations @jackquilln! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the April 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Day - April 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation