You can feel it starting to turn with the sun being lower in the sky, and temperatures are dropping. It was nice to get a warm cup of tea to warm the hands up.

in #homesteading7 years ago

I was happy to see that low pressure (forming typhoon) had not done much damage to the plots, you never know if you are going to have a shed standing after a windy night. I have been busy down on the plot this month, with many crops coming to an end like-courgettes,sweetcorn, peppers and tomatoes to name a few. I cleared all vegetable stems, composted them and weeded as I went; now the beds are looking neat and tidy. I also earthed up the stems of the Brussel sprouts to give support as they will become top-heavy. I cut yellow leaves away as leaving them to rot on the ground could spread grey mould.

You can feel it starting to turn with the sun being lower in the sky, and temperatures are dropping. It was nice to get a warm cup of tea to warm the hands up.

I will be preparing the Artichokes for over winter by the end of this month. Plants are not always frost hardy. I will cut down dead steams and remove yellow foilage, then spread compost around the base.I might put straw around the base just for more warmth.

FB_IMG_1508457682020.jpg

FB_IMG_1508544299923.jpg

FB_IMG_1508544296994.jpg

FB_IMG_1508544294161.jpg

FB_IMG_1508544288251.jpg

FB_IMG_1508544282685.jpg

Sort:  

Great, look forward to seeing the progress :) I may learn something. Thank you

The last 3 pics are my favorite. Love the blued edges and the unique last pic. Have a wonderful day :)