You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Preparing For Winter - Butchering Chickens & Making Tomato Sauces

in #homesteading7 years ago

Thanks for sharing this. Chicken is one of my favorite foods and I've always wanted to get a few chickens for eggs, but I was never sure if I had the guts to butcher a live chicken. I'm too much of an animal lover haha but then again, a man's gotta eat!

Sort:  

I know a friend who raises her birds, and then takes them to someone else to be processed, so if it is really too much for you, there might be that option?

Yea for sure it's very difficult and sad to kill for food. When you see how they are treated in factory farms, and the other things that happen with Big Ag, it's honestly better this way. I know how these chickens live, they get fresh air, sunshine, and respect here, in the factories they live a life of torture. They get no drugs, clean living quarters and I know what they are eating. Fuck factory farms.

What really helps is to thank the chicken. I do a smudge before I slaughter and offering some tobacco or some other offering would help the spirit surrender willingly. I believe the animals want to serve, we just need to honour them and give them time to prepare. Then they will do so willingly. This is what I am working on this year. I find it helps.