GARDEN UPDATE, KITCHEN SINK DRAIN PLUMBED, AND NEW CHICKENS ON THE HOMESTEAD

in #homesteading2 years ago

FOOD TO FEED US AND OTHERS

There will be no failures(on my behalf, nature is unpredictable though😁) this year in the garden. And as of now it's all looking great!!!

KIMG0351.JPG

From the peppers, to the potatoes, corn, kale, cauliflower, broccoli, tomatoes, carrots and so many more... everything is doing amazing!!! It's really a lot of fun and fulfilling to work the garden daily.

KIMG0338.JPG
*Bell peppers, one of nine pepper varieties we have.

KIMG0336.JPG
*A beautiful baby Kale plant. We have eight of them!🥰

KIMG0340.JPG
*One of eight of our little cauliflower kids.😁

KIMG0349.JPG
*A beautiful thick double row of carrots.

I water all my little babies every other day. This is made easy as I have ran a line from our spring supply pump to the garden and have a hose hooked up to it. I use a mickey mouse water sprinkler to spray the water.

KIMG0348.JPG
*I got this guy for free from a neighbor who no longer needed it.💪😁

I also pull probably a thousand weeds every couple days, out of the garden. It's quite a bit of work, but so worth it and its actually kind of satisfying to hear the roots pop or have them pull completely out of the ground.

KIMG0353.JPG
*It's the end of the road for these fellas, but there will surely be more.🤣

ONE STEP CLOSER TO A NORMAL LIVING 😁

Up until a couple days ago our kitchen sink was not hooked up to the main house plumbing on the drain side. Water at the faucet worked, but it simply drained into a bucket underneath that we had to keep a check on and dump it before it got full...talk about a pain in the butt.🤣😂 However, that is no more as I was able to finally get it all hooked up.🥳🥳

KIMG0357.JPG
*It may just be a simple pipe, but with it we will have no more accidental overflows of the bucket.🌊

KIMG0356.JPG
*Where it ties into the rest of te drain system.

NEW CHICKAPOOS ON THE HOMESTEAD

My friend Danielson called me and said that he knew somebody who was trying to get rid of nine chickens. Eight were hens and one rooster. Since it is spring time and my chickens don't get fed, as they free range taking on more chickens, literally costs me nothing right now and come fall I will be able to harvest them and can them.

I don't have pictures of them, and I apologize for that. But there are three or four silkies, one that doesn't have feathers on its neck and it's supposed to be that way, a black one and a red one and a rooster.

Sort:  

Great to see the garden going well and more progress on the home👍

It really is! I feel like the cabin may never be fully done.😂🤣 I am about to start on building a root cellar soon. And i definitely need to getmy well dug to tap into the spring underground and prevent the water freezing issues I dealt with this last winter...so cabin work is partially on hold again.😁 We send our love dear friend and hipe all is going well for you and your loved ones!🤗🤗🤗🤗

It looks like you will be getting lots of bell peppers at the very least! I'm a little scared to take the protective domes off of my plants just yet. Who knows what could happen to the poor babies. Congrats on the chickens! Can't wait to see pictures of them. I had a bald one too for a while that looked like a little angry vulture.