You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Apartment Homestead In The Sky

in #homesteading5 years ago

I love your wandering dude! So pretty!
We tore the strawberries out of our garden right around the 4th of July. Planted pumpkins instead. We probably planted them too late, not much happening, but oh well. Lol. The garden just looks so bare. I keep fighting the urge to plant more stuff in there. 🤣😁

Sort:  

Why did you tear out the strawberries? Did you harvest already? O:
What I read online just recently was that the best time to plant pumpkins for harvest around Samhain is late June, so you might be OK on that score!

There were just too many. We harvested the whole month of June and there was probably still another month's worth of berries growing in there. I was losing more berries to slugs than anything, but still getting waayyy too many. 😂

I felt like I had mastered growing strawberries and I learned a whole lot from it, I wanted to move on to a fall crop of some kind. Pumpkins seemed like a good idea, we didn't plant a whole lot either, just enough for the kids to carve some or maybe make like 2 pies. 🤣

Posted using Partiko Android

Now you know that jack-o-lantern pumpkins and pie pumpkins are different, right?
And cool about the strawberries! Did you make jam?

Yeah, we've got both kinds planted. 😊
Oh yeah, I made jam. And strawberry hand pies and cookies and ice cream and scones and cake. Then I ran out of recipes I wanted to try. 🤣

Posted using Partiko Android

LOL! You should initiate "national leave strawberries on your neighbor's porch day" like "national leave zucchini on your neighbor's porch day." :D

Bahaha! That's a really good idea. 😍
I just checked on the pumpkins this morning and we've got one growing!!!
Thought you'd like to see. 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Yaay, hi pumpkins! 🌱