New Year’s Update: Wild Rose Acres Resolutions

Happy 2018! Today is the day to nail down all the accomplishments you wish to achieve so let’s see what is in store for Wild Rose Acres!

If you saw my previous New Year’s Update, you’ll know that I recently created a free website through Wix in order to better organize the projects going on at the homestead. If you check under the “Projects” tab, you’ll see some of our 2018 resolutions!


The main and most important goal is to complete my Grandmother’s Garden Restoration project - we began this last year by clearing out part of the old garden and planting some new perennials, but we have a LONG way to go. I would like to continue clearing out the overgrowth and any old junk like fencing. There is an old, rusted car frame in the plot of land that I think I will leave and grow some type of vine over! I plan to add a lot more plants including some of the seed donations from papa-pepper as well as the milkweed seeds I have stratifying in the fridge. I hope to have it cleared out and replanted by the end of summer.

The other three projects will be started this year but I am not going to stress about making a resolution to finish them yet. I will at least choose and clear out an area for compost and attempt to propagate the pear tree for the orchard. The wood pile redesign is going to be a beast so I’ll leave planning that for a later date!

Don’t forget, if you have a resolution for your homestead this year write an article about it and submit it to the most recent Homesteading Challenge! Please post it by 11:00 PM (CDT) [UTC offset: UTC -5] on Sunday, January 7, 2018! I look forward to reading about what you hope to accomplish in 2018!


Photography by @kiaraantonoviche and may be shared/reposted with proper accreditation.

Join the HomesteadersOnline Discord community today!

Proud passenger of the Steemit EcoTrain!

Sort:  

Happy New Year @kiaraantonoviche
I wish you many blessings in the coming year and being able to complete your resolutions for this new year. I hope the garden restoration goes well! Gardening is also one of my resolutions as I plan to expand my garden this year.
I look forward to seeing your progress!

Thank you so much! I appreciate the support and nice comment :) now I just have to be patient for spring! Happy New Year!

Renovating your grandmother's garden sounds like such a wonderful goal. That is just so special that you have that! Can't wait to see photos of before and after!

I posted some before/after pictures a long time ago if you are interested in seeing what I accomplished so far! It still has a long way to go however so I will be taking many more!

Looking good for 2018.

Very useful to have the website...

Thanks, I thought so too :) it's easy to lose track of updates in the daily flood of Steemit articles

Nice Post!. Happy new year.

Looks like those projects will keep you busy in 2018!

Very busy! But after a boring winter like this one, I am excited to get outside this spring!