You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: LEARNING NEW SKILLS AND IMMEDIATELY PASSING THEM ON

in #homesteading7 years ago

I think you are right, people who harvest their own animals definitely have a better understanding and in most cases a greater appreciation for where their food comes from. It would be similar to growing a garden, you still have to plant it and nurture the plants through all of their phases until their are ready to harvest. You only have certain plant/vegetables that will keep over the winter so you cherish the times when you can eat the raspberries off the bush. It's all a process that requires a lot of care and attention to create before you can put it in your mouth.
With animals the ending would of course be different, I know it would be much more difficult to harvest a goat then it would be to harvest a squash.
I have never taken the life of an animal first hand but I have eaten animals and I respect people who do the whole process and really understand who it is that they are eating. For the most part I think people are so detached from the whole idea.

Sort:  

People are way too detached these days, and therefore appreciate a lot less. It's part of the reason that I garden too.

Now, I do try to grow as much of my own vegetables as possible, but it's a bit hard in the Florida heat. Everything is great from about March till June, then it's a struggle to keep things growing after that!