Friends, not foe - bird life in Ligaya Garden -

in #homesteading2 years ago (edited)

Hi! This is my first post for a loooooooooooooonnnnngggg time, I haven't done anything since that whole Steem fiasc when everyone jumped to this platform. It'll take me a little while to get things flowing again so please bear with me if you see any weird typography and layout errors. Like I said, its been a while.

If anyone remembers, I post about homesteading, urban farming, DIY, aquaponics, chickens and all that good stuff and I hope to keep you entertained with more of it!

So here's my first in this reboot-
___

Mamma Dove still hasn't moved on!

Her babies are out cleaning up the garden and cleaning up the grain that I've dropped near the chook house. They're too cute to chase away, they only stay a foot or so ahead of me when I'm walking and sit on the fence when I'm doing any gardening. One even sits on the gate while it swings open.



But we would like her to leave her nest because we want to remove the Madeira Vine that's choking up the middle of the garden. It's been chopped and pruned so only the part sheltering the nest remains.


The Doves have made nests in different places over the years and compete with Mamma Blackbird for choice sites. They're all welcome here, all help out in their own way and I've learned to leave them to their jobs and have adapted my gardening techniques to suit.




It's just easier that way! Now,  when Mamma Blackbird is redistributing my mulch  I know she's teaching me a lesson in natural landscape design. When the Doves nest somewhere inconvenient , I know that that tree needs continuous fertilising. When the New Holland Honeyeaters are around, I know that it's time to be alert for pests. When Cockatoos gather in the trees nearby, they are telling me to be ready for Red Spider Mites.

Sure they all have a nibble here and there, that's fine. I just wish that they wouldn't take a single bite out of EVERY PLUM!