Our 1/4 section - falling in love with a place.

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

We found ourselves looking for a place to stay, and I really mean to STAY.

Connection, a word that has a lot of meaning. But I mean it in a very simple primal way. Maybe the way our ancestors felt it, maybe they were more than just individuals..maybe they were part of a place? I wanted a place, I needed a place. I had been dreaming for along time and eventually I did the work to make that dream come true, or at least to get the dream started. This may sound a bit romantic, but to me it has been exactly that!

IMG_6136.JPG

Where do I start... Let me talk a bit about the place, to give you a sense of how I feel when I'm there. This is not a guide on how to find the right piece of land (I'l do a post on that in the future), this is more about the place and her character.

IMG_5967.JPG

Looking for land was fun, we spent just over a year checking places out. We saw the good, the bad and the ugly. We wanted a place with lots of nature, we wanted grassland and forest. Our realtor friend had been emailing us listings that fit the description of what we were looking for. When our future piece of land showed Gen knew right away that it could potentially be the place we had been searching for. The satellite image alone was enough to get us excited. It was within our budget and within an hour of Saskatoon! We left the city and drove out with our realtor.. and the rest is history...

Untitled (2).png

What really attracted me at first was the aspen wilderness with its wet and dry areas, each acre telling a different story. Some areas where trees were bigger than I had seen before, with willow, dogwood and maple. Other areas with sandy soil, berry bushes and wild herbs. I knew a wild place like this would have a lot to teach me, and was I ever right!

IMG_0650.JPG

Not only was it wild but our place has a good 30 acres of pasture and trails established from long in the past, we are still trying to piece together her history from tales by the neighbours and local. A half kilometre trail runs through the forest to a small pasture for which we have no clue what the intent could have been, but it a gorgeous trail to walk and talk with friends. There is history of previous owners using the land for moose and deer hunting which may explain the clearings. The lowest corner of the property has a very old well and pump, presumable to water cattle/horses way in the past (the well gave us some really good info on water table and quality). After some time spent exploring we have found many more signs of human use, although no proof of permanent settlement.

25659878_10159803641770472_4909967496126351029_n.jpg

I really enjoy having friends out to help out around the farm, but to be honest my favourite time is when I take them exploring. My backyard shows me something new every time I enter the treeline...I have even been know to get us lost on occasion. We spend our free time finding new plants and fungi, we get lucky and see our moose friends and get followed along by the friendly chickadees. I don't feel like I own a place, I feel like I'm becoming part of a place. Sometimes that means giving the big animals space and respecting natures way of doing things.

IMG_6551.JPG

I always liked Fridays way too much growing up, the day of the week when I either got to get away to the lake or head to dads acreage after school was over. As an adult I have once again found that feeling, I spend all week planning and organising in anticipation of getting back out to my place. I am working hard to make some changes, those changes involve me spending more time there and eventually spending all my time there. Yes I want a homestead, yes I want a home and some gardens.. but most of all I want this special place to teach me how to be more wild and awake. I find tremendous value in her wildness.

IMG_5978.JPG

Rain or shine, its a good place to be and that is my plan. Iv got a lifetime of learning and I now have the place to apply my knowledge.

22141143_10159390809425472_7243673859963482008_n.jpg

IMG_0896.JPG

064.JPG

IMG_7620.JPG

IMG_7706.JPG

A place to be.

Cass

Sort:  

What really attracted me at first was the aspen wilderness with its wet and dry areas, each acre telling a different story

So nice to be that close and in touch with nature! Can't wait to hear the stories you will be telling and posting on here!

Not sure if I have stopped by your page yet or not, but I belong to a community and group of homesteaders/gardeners/etc here, if you'd like to join just let me know,

For sure I would like to! I’m really new at this platform however and have no clue where to start

Absolutely! Here is the link
Join Link: https://discord.gg/VKCrWsS

The Front Porch is the main chat area and if you have any questions, just ask. Someone there can usually answer! Welcome aboard!

Awesome location and environment!

Whats the topography like?

Front of propert has a south west slope and the the property is mostly gentle rolling hill topography. We have great black soil and some sandy glacial till.

Sounds perfect! Great for self-sufficient farming!

From the satallite shot, it looks like the NE and far north have been cleared in the not so recent past. From the straight lines, looks like it possibly had some logging.

Forgot to mention that the land had previously been fenced a long time ago. The neighbour said he cleared the cut lines with a skid steer to work on fence some 15 years ago. The fence is in very rough shape.

What a lovely post, I can tell that this piece of land is becoming a good friend to the both of you, you've got a new follower in me, can't wait to learn more through your journeys!

I think the connection is just to nature. It has a divine perfect harmony and builds the love emotion in us, that has worlds of benefits.

It’s a beautiful piece of property. Lots of acreage to keep you busy. Can’t wait to see what you do with it. Nice dog! Lol🐓🐓

most of all I want this special place to teach me how to be more wild and awake

right? how to truly experience everything that's out there. how to see beyond just your eyes - letting the air get into your bone marrow & watching the insects go about their business as you walk past them.

just followed you & am looking forward to learning more from your adventures!

Thanks following back!

You are the land, the land is you. You are home. Beautiful! Now you can start on your relationship with yourself and Mother Earth. She will teach you lots as you explore what it is like to hear and see what the plants and animals are trying to teach you. Embrace it my friends. You will do well. My heart beams being a witness to the two of you on this journey!

Yes haha it always come back to the relationship with myself! Mother Earth has been the greatest guide thus far and I’m just getting started. Our hearts beam back!

Welcome to the Steem platform. There a lot of us finding our way around here. Many homesteaders and we are becoming a tight group. Finding that special piece of land is the first step to that homestead dream. Before you know it, it will become a reality. Following you and resteemed.

Thanks, following you back!

Beautiful place and beautiful photos! That's a huge piece of land by local standards, which makes out even more majestic. I'll follow your adventures with interest!

Some people around here think of it as huge as well! Thank ya!