Mom vs Mink

in #homesteading4 years ago


(Video 9:42)

Hello #HiveFam, I hope you are all well on this fine Sunday!

My fellow homesteaders have no doubt had to deal with predators, mink are known to take out whole flocks of chickens at a time, so I consider myself lucky that my hens are still alive, though I lost all but one of my baby chicks in a daylight attack. It entered the run.

For the better part of 2 months I have been working at trapping the mink. It is still around, I hear it at night calling down by the ocean. Mink apparently won't leave the territory until all the chickens are dead. Hey, who doesn't like a free meal eh?

In this video I will show you the traps I am currently using. I show you how I am baiting them, as well as showing you a trap that was unsuccessful, as the mink was caught in it briefly then escaped. You will be surprised at how small of a space they can fit through!

Thanks for watching my journey into trapping. If you have any experience with trapping mink, please comment tips and ideas below.

Sort:  

Duly noted: mink are like cats in that they can turn into a liquid substance and squeeze through impossibly tiny spaces...

Yeah, like a cross between a rat and a snake, the way it kills is very snake like, I'll never get that picture out of my head watching it wrap around and flip all around SO FAST, like almost doing figure 8's when it was attacking.

That mink is goin' down!

I appreciate your vote of confidence and lulz that gif is awesome!!

I saw your chicken firm on steemit a long time ago. Now i see it again. A good idea comes from you.

Thanks for watching Ibrahim.

Once you catch him you should try training him to catch rodents like this guy

I can send him to you if you'd like lol, your hamsters may complain though... 😁

Haha he'd destroy the hams in one bite.

hi, dear!! how are you?? you're not active here? lack of time or smth happened?? how are your 3 bogatyrs?

Oh my goodness, so so so good to see you Talia!!! I can't believe it's been a month since I posted LOL!! Ooops!! Yes, just busy enjoying real life a lot of the time these days, and the Bogatyrs are AWESOME I am homeschooling the 2 younger ones, it's going SO GREAT!!!!

I'm coming to your page now to see what is new! It's so lovely to see you here!!

I love this bot!

The 18 baby chicks it slaughtered were also adorable ...

Hey @lynds
Sarah and I got married!