Mullein the Miracle Plant

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

This amazing problem-solving plant treats an array of illnesses, makes candles, can be rolled into cigarettes, or drank as tea. There are very few sacred plants as versatile as Mullein! It starts out its first season as a short plant with large, long, woolly leaves. It's second year it forms a 4-8 foot stalk, the top loaded with small buds similar to kernels on a cob. I went out hunting this morning specifically for Mullein and I wasn't walking for ten minutes before I found a short, bushy, first year plant (probably spawn of the tall plant I harvested last year just fifteen feet away). The arrangement of the leaves on the young, and the symmetry of the flowers and seedhead of older plants display a pattern which can be referred to as sacred geometry and helps indicate its medicinal value. Harvesting is best before buds form; but first year plants stay green all winter, so it's readily available all year. I collected some large leaves for bandages/ tea and some new baby leaves to dry for smoking. As with most herbs, I collected and am drying them in small brown paper bags.


raw-12.jpeg


Scientific name Verbascum is a genus covering around 250 species with nearly as many interchangeable terms. Among them are Velvet Plant, Feltwort, Beggar's Blanket, Flannel Flower, and Lungwort. You know how accurately descriptive those names are if you've ever had a feel of the leaves from this plant, they are downright furry. They feel exactly like felt or a thick flannel blanket. For ages its been valued as a treatment for sore throat, breathing ailments like asthma, and even diarrhea/ hemorrhoids. Most commonly a tea is steeped (and WELL strained, as the spiny hairs can irritate the throat), but a person can put the leaves in boiling water and breathe in the steamy vapors as one does with lemon balm, it works as an expectorant. It purifies by expelling congestion from the lungs, like a cleanse.


raw-15.jpeg


Ol' timers indirectly breathe in smoke from burning mullein or directly puff on the herb, and coughing from the smoke is believed to be beneficial for congestion. I read a story about an old woman smoking Mullein in a pipe to alleviate symptoms of a winter chest-cold, a young family member walked in on her and thought she was using drugs. Mullein is actually gaining popularity as an herb since its introduction in alternative smoking blends with folks leaving commercially manufactured cigarettes. Mullein burns as well as birch bark in a mixture to tone down bowls of potent Indian Tobacco. I have come across recipes to make a cough syrup from the plentiful yellow blooms, as well as instructions for making yellow dye.


raw-20.jpeg


Mullein is also comforting to twists and sprains, as it reduces swelling and inflammation. Just dip several full leaves in hot or boiling water and immediately apply to inured joint, wrapping it as a person would an ace bandage and tie it with a fabric strip. This method is one of the most practical ways to utilize any other topically applied herbs, plant medicines, or healing substances you've come onto; like buttonbush-snakeroot, buffalo gourd, or a madstone. It sooths the strained area instantly but the real effects are noticed overnight by ease in swelling. Minor skin irritation from the tiny hairs on the leaf is seen as a sign of effectiveness. This treatment is most effecient when applied directly after injury (collect in advanced and keep on hand) and pair with rest. For prolonged treatment, change daily or just add a fresh layer of dipped leaves to skin and rewrap with the previously used green furry bandages.


raw-14.jpeg


Also known as Candle Wick and Candle Flower, this versatile, indispensable plant is found is some variety on all six green continents. The ancients used the dried leaf stem and central vain in candles and as wicks in oil lamps. The stem is slow burning and can be used as a candle in itself or dipped in wax or fat. Ceremonial torches made of Mullein stalks aka GraveDirt stalks are used in magic rituals, but make awesome natural tiki torches and a concentrate of the leaves can make a mosquito repellent! Anyone can find a use for this common weed, and that exhausts my Mullein knowledge bank. If you have any tips or experiences to add, please share! As always, I took all the photos myself. Thanks for reading, and I'll see you again.

Sort:  

Mullein is one of my favorite plants. We have it growing wild all over our homestead and I find is sad that most people cut it down or spray it because they see it as a "weed."

I'm a curator for a group called helpie and our goal os to find good content and lift it in any way we can. I would love to feature you in our weekly curation report. You will be paid for your content from the post payout and it will hopefully get you a bigger audience ❤

Awesome, much appreciated! I'll check out your group for sure. Have a blessed day and enjoy your extra hour of light!

I didn't know all this about mullein. I was told about it by a dear friend when I found out my daughter has asthma attacks when she catches a cold. So we collected some last summer. I dried the leaves and tried burning them when she started having asthma again. I don't think I did it right. I tried getting as much smoke from the leaves that I could to fill the room and have it close to her. Im going to try steaming it for her the next time it happens. It's new to me and so I am still learning.
Now that I know about it I see it almost everywhere! I can't wait to collect some more in the summer again ^_^

I love it when you learn of something useful and then you start noticing it surrouding you! You can find green plants in winter if she suffers during this time of year. Make her some tea besides breathing the smoke. Some tribes are said to have used the root especially for asthma, might try a little digging next time you run into some too. Thanks so much for commenting! Have a blessed day.

We have too much snow here to be able to find them. I will try the roots too! Im up to trying it all. Its all better than chemical crap. Enjoy your day :)

This is really interesting - It looked familiar so I googled it and sure enough it does grow in NZ :) Thanks for sharing

I'm thinking our regions have tolerance for a lot of similar plants... I've been keeping my eye out for 'salty grapes' to popup in one of my seed catalogs! Hoping!

Fascinating @medicinewheel ! So many uses from one plant! Could give hemp a run for its money!!

Versitility is definitely one of mulleins strengths, makes it a first-aid basic to keep on hand, or at least to stop mowing them over. Hemp products are more marketable; but for DIY use and propagation, it would attract some attention. lol. Both are really great useful herbs for sure!

Osiyo! I half expected to see a Cherokee tag on this post! Snakeroot and buffalo gourd are both very important medicinal plants in Cherokee tradition. But, based on some of your past posts, you probably already knew that. ☺

I didn't know all of those things about mullein. I had heard that it was useful but I never got around to researching it. When I was a little girl I thought the hairs were thorns or or stickers, maybe similar to those of stinging nettle, so I was always scared of it.

Thanks, I actually thought about tagging with Cherokee, i'd really love to see that tag start to trend! Was such a pleasant suprise to be featured in @helpie curation post next to you today! Keep those amazing articles coming! Donadagvhoi/ Until we meet again!

Is this similar to lambs ear?

I have not come across Lambs Ear, I read that they have similar leaves but Lambs Ear is softer. I love the names of folk herbs. Lambs Ears stalk isn't quite as tall and it has pin flowers as opposed to the yellow. The medicinal properties are also very similar! Good eye!

I LOVE mullein! It grows wild here, too. Had a beautiful one last year growing right under my chair. Lol I've never felt the leaves as being spiny. Ive heard it used as toilet paper even. So now I'm a little confused. I will find out shortly as it raises from it's winter sleep. Great post! Resteeming and followed

Haha, nice coming up under your chair... a built-in rug :) when dried and kept on hand indoors, the soft hairs stiffen. It doesn't usually irritate when applied to healthy skin but might bother the throat and mucus membranes when drinking or smoking. Toilet paper is a good idea, Im going to keep that im mind for camping and extended hikes.

Sounds like it’s a great plant to have along with comfrey.

Yes, they would pair well! A mullein bandage would work great with a comfrey poultice. Thank you @quochuy!

i think i've seen some of these around the property - i need to get a stake or something in the ground to mark interesting plants that i find. i had no idea one plant could do so much - thanks for sharing with us!

Yep, they can come in handy; the perfect wound field-dressing! And they are beautiful!

I really love this post @medicinewheel, and would love to unearth it as part of the @naturalmedicine initiative. Would you be interested in learning more about this, and reposting this under the @naturalmedicine blog? You'd recieve the SBD from the post payout as reward.