You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: VIDEO: DISTILLING WATER Off Grid On The HOMESTEAD ~ A POT STILL and HOW IT WORKS!

Great advice thanks! I've seen the electric units and they are amazing. I wanted one that would work over a fire. However this unit has an adapter for an electic heating element in case one would want the best of both worlds.

Sort:  

I put one together out of an 18 qt stainless stock pot I got from Goodwill for $2.50 but it doesn't have a serial number. ;-)

I tested it out on top of the rocket stove/heater core and it worked reasonably well using wood pellets for fuel. Not nearly as efficient as the propane burner but it's nice to have alternatives.

I'm a belt and suspenders kind of guy.

@theblindsquirl Where's the video? By the way.

I've got 4 gallons of Strawberry that needs to be run this weekend.

I guess I can charge up the Flip Camera.

Oh! that would be awesome! Distilled water is something we need on a daily basis at our house ... well ok mostly daily and mostly winter ... we were already wondering just exactly we could do a diy.

Sorry to disappoint you if you thought I was going to post a DIY video for making a still but there are plenty of those already on youtube.

Search for "Easy Build Moonshine Still Upgrade" by wcemichael.

He has lots of videos that show how-to on a budget.

O.o so then what do you plan to do with the strawberries? Thanks for the tip. I'll locate them.

I'm going to distill it into brandy.

I'm just not going to make a video of me doing it and post it on the internet. ;-)