You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SO what is cooking from Scratch? For me, it is how they cooked 80 years ago? It is a bit murky when you grew up in the 70’s with the Advent of Hamburger Helper!

You know, I was pondering this question myself recently. For many of my family cooking involves plating up and reheating things. So if I prepare everything in advance they'll "cook". when I first met my husband he told me he could cook. It turned out he could make beans on toast! Lol! So he could toast some ready made bread and reheat a tin of beans. Would cooking from scratch essentially be making the bread and baked beans yourself? Of course making all that every single meal time would be a bit much, but they could possibly be prepared and preserved previously.

Sort:  

I feel it is! Scratch to me is knowing from the beginning where it all comes from and what it contains. For instance every time we eat out I know I am getting canola oil aka rape seed oil...A carcinogen, but I take it in stride, as we seldom eat out! It is a real treat when we do and so I try not to think about it. It does all take time. I found that when I was teaching school the crock pot was my friend. :) THank you for commenting!
Have a great Day!
Melissa