You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 10 Things To Do Before Buying Your Dream Homestead Property

This is a wonderful and well thought out list, thanks for putting it together (though I'm sorry you found them out through hard experience! The commute part is terrible!)

If I can add one, it would be to find somebody who has not lived in the area all their lives, and ask them what their reception as a newcomer to the area was like and whether they feel accepted into the community. When I was a teen, that's the one my family found out through hard experience, in a small town that was hostile toward outsiders!

Sort:  

Yes you are correct. My neighbors at the time thought we were greenhorn idiots. The man helped out if he thought we needed help. Sometime we did, until we could afford to buy all of the equipment one needs to maintain a large place. But they told stories about how stupid I was to everyone in the area. Around here there is no community to ostracize unless I joined some local organization. Then there is plenty ostracizing to go around. We keep to ourselves. It can be lonely but it's better than having unfriendlies about.

That's a shame that your neighbors treated you like that :(