My Country Life - Planting Potatoes And Peas In Our Garden

in #homesteading4 years ago

Today the gardening season officially started for us! Even though we have some salad, spring onions, carrots and some other veggies, all of those were planted in the autumn. Today we started the new, spring planting season which I have been excited for a while now!


We started off with potatoes and peas today. Tomorrow we will continue with onions, garlic, carrots, spinach, salad and beetroot. Those rows will be a little bit smaller so we can do it all in one day. It was a nice and sunny day, with some wind on and off but nothing that a hood or a hat can't fix. :) I helped my parents and learned a few things along the way which I am documenting for myself in form of photos and I think that I will also do some form of written documenting about seeds, planting techniques for different veggies, taking care of them and stuff like that.

Potatoes and Peas

2.jpg
This bad boy is what we use to make rows for planting. You can also get an idea of the size of our garden from this picture.

3.jpg
Another angle... Cool thing about this "machine" (however you call it in English lol) is that, depending on the angle and pressure, you can decide how deep the rows will be.

4.jpg
This blade part was made by my brother. I swear he can make anything with his two hands, some tools and materials.

5.jpg
Those sticks in the ground are raspberries. Strawberries are also not on the picture. As you can tell, we still have quite bit of land to work on.

1.jpg
These was a few crates and buckets filled with potatoes, here are some

6.jpg
Almost ready

7.jpg
This is what is looks like

8.jpg
This is the only photo of peas planting I took. These rows were made with a hoe and even though you cannot really see peas, I promise they are there, haha.

Other photos

9.jpg
Checking on the fruits, doing well so far

10.jpg
Just about to bloom

11.jpg
Giving our rooster some grass. I feed him separately from the chickens because they bully him so I'm always there while he's eating. He had some legs deformation that caused him to wobble while walking and he was always behind on the growth. These couple of months he is doing a lot better but I still protect him. :)

header 5.jpg

I couldn't be happier that the garden work started! We do this every year but now, in these times of isolation because of corona, it is an amazing distraction. Me and my family are staying at home, in our yard and garden, I'm the one who goes to the store when needed and my brother is still working but that's it. Gardening can be quite therapeutic in general and we are so happy and grateful that we can spend our days like this during these challenging times. I hope you're doing well, stay safe, this too shall pass!

header 5.jpg

Photos are mine taken with Samsung Galaxy S6 Edge

Banner created with Canva

header 5.jpg

signature.png

Some of my previous posts:

Sublime Sunday - State of Emergency in Serbia

My Country Life - Massive Carrots + Strawberries and Garden Prep

My Country Life - An Uneventful, Chill Day

My Country Life - Beautiful, Spring Like Day

My Country Life - Spring Cleaning and Seeds Prep

Sort:  

Crikey you really are doing a lot of planting, impressive.

Love that you protect your bullied rooster. Poor thing!

Thanks, we are trying to use up all the available space we have. It is a lot of work and last year we had one really bad ice storm that destroyed a lot of fruits and veggies (some recovered, some didn't) so all I'm hoping for is the weather to be a little bit more gentle, lol.

Yeah, he was always hiding and the last one to eat so I took upon myself to make sure he can eat in peace when I feed them. He's getting along with the chickens a lot better lately. :)

Thanks for stopping by!

@tipu curate :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

A gorgeous sense of promise, planting and self-sufficiency!


Thanks for using the #ecotrain tag!

You are WELCOME to post in the ecotrain community and then use any tags you like at:
https://steempeak.com/c/hive-123046
Then we can all SEE you and keep supporting your posts!
Keep up the great posts, blogging, photographs, vlogging & inspiration.

With Love From ecoTrain