You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Some gear ideas for water purification, whether for hiking fun or survival.

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

Nice informative post. I have both a Sawyer Mini and Katadyn Combi. I love them both, but the Sawyer is for backpacking and the Combi is for disaster. I bought the Combi with the sink adapter kit and it works great and the water tastes awesome. It has a ceramic main filter with a activated charcoal second stage. It can be used on a hike, as it only weighs 1 lb., but for long hikes the Sawyer is gold. I have used my Sawyer over 4 years and it still flows. The life straw is more of a gimmick and doesn't last long. It's a rip off in my eyes. Nice to meet you, I am new here and trying to meet new people. I just posted my introduction, if you feel like giving it a look.

Sort:  

Excellent information! Thanks for sharing. Agree that LifeStraw seems a lesser choice in many ways, but if I understand correctly, they were a fairly early example of cheap filters and we're aimed at providing clean drinking water to third world residents, especially children. I know for a while, at least, they marketed that they were donating one for every one purchased, so seemed to have an altruistic mission similar to one laptop per child? Not sure how legit that turned out. Am with you on Sawyer for sure and agree that it's backflushing feature, syringe even included, is pretty awesome compared with LS. Pleasure to meet you!