Clarice goes to freezer camp! My day at the homestead.

in #homesteading7 years ago

A little over a year ago we packed it all up and moved from Canada's west coast all the way to the east coast to buy some land and start a little homestead and market farm. We are slowly getting there and growing our garden and our chicken flock, maybe we'll even have some goats or a mini cow next year. appletreeplanting.jpg

Meet Clarice.

Clarice.jpg

Clarice turned out to be a rooster. Not that there is anything wrong with roosters, we need them for the continuation of our flock. But being an asshole rooster in our flock just doesn't fly. It was off to freezer camp for the bully Clarice. So with the blockchains being overwhelmed with kittens and my invested cryptos all being unavailable on the exchanges, I decided it was a good day to say goodbye to one obnoxious rooster and kill my third chicken (in all my 56 years of life) since we began our homesteading adventure just over a year ago. After getting home from walking the dogs in the nearby Belle Isle Marsh Dogs in bed.jpg

Belleislemarsh.jpg

buildingacoop.jpg
...
and with my stepdaughters semi-willing help we stuffed Clarice into the killing bucket, head down, neck exposed. As my help turned away I said a little thank you to the universe and to Clarice for providing us with sustenance, and with a clean cut, took the head right off. The stories are true, they can run around for a couple minutes without their heads, much to my surprise.(I also saved the feathers, as my better half assures me they are marketable) This is not my favorite thing to do but I do like to eat chicken and eggs so despite the little queasy feeling I get, I do what needs to be done. I am a chef so the rest of the process isn't too tough for me once I pass the hurdle of taking life. Now Henry, on the other hand, Our little white Bantam! who was being picked on by another more aggresive Bantam named Elvis, he got to go to another home where he would, hopefully, be a good rooster for some little hens of his own happy chickens.jpg

Well that was my day in rural Nova Scotia. I am still new here and to the crypto community, finding my way around, well more like stumbling around in a dark cave at the moment but starting to get the hang of things.
Cheers!

Sort:  

We had an obnoxious rooster who was supposed to be a girl too! He was our test as to whether we could prep our own chickens. It's never a nice job and doesn't get any nicer, but always better than battery farmed, for all involved.

Anyway, a belated welcome to steemit from me. I see you've already been introduced to the Team Canada community, which is great. The communities can be a great support on here, particularly early on. I've put a link to your post on our homesteaders discord channel too, hope you don't mind. The homesteaders are another lovely community your are welcome to join in with. @pensiff does a homesteaders and preppers list to help us to connect with each other. There are a few in Canada: https://steemit.com/homesteading/@pennsif/homesteaders-and-preppers-on-steemit-smashing-through-the-250-mark-v10-22-nov-17

If you'd like to join us on discord please feel free. The invite link is here, or you can just check it out first:

Join Link: https://discord.gg/VKCrWsS
Community Link: http://homesteaders-online.com

A little more involved is the minnow support group. Have a look at @minnowsupport once you feel more settled, or straight away if you're raring to go! It's a slightly more long winded process, but worthwhile in the end.

Thanks for your welcome, your kind words and the helpful information. I'm still trying to figure this stuff out. I've joined the discord and I'll see where that takes me. I'm not sure I understand how the minnow support works. Cheers!

I was a bit confused with minnow support. I probably don't make the best use of it even now as I'm in a different time zone to most and struggle to find the time to get on discord. It's been a big support to many though.