Homesteaders & Preppers on steemit - 200 up! - v8 [03 Sep '17]

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

Apologies for the radio silence, but we made it - 200 homesteaders and preppers on steemit !!!

In fact we've crashed through the 200 mark and now have 205.
I had said with the last list at the end of July that I would be publishing the list weekly but then it all slowed down. So I thought I would hang on for the big 200.

I'll probably aim for a monthly list now, or maybe just wait for next milestone at 250.

It is great to see the numbers of homesteaders and preppers on steemit grow so well. I know a lot of good connections and friendships are being made. Continual great content is being posted, and help and advice being offered. And new initiatives like the 'Supporting SteemitHomesteaders Members!' upvoting system organised by @greenacrehome are popping up all the time.

However I am concerned about the apparent drop off rate. I haven't done a full analysis yet but I suspect a fair number of the 205 homesteaders and preppers on the list are no longer so active on steemit. But they might come back!

This makes it even more important that we all connect and mutually support each other through upvoting, resteeming and networking as much as we can.

That way we can help grow the homesteaders and preppers community into one of the more buoyant and prosperous communities on steemit.

Following on from @codypanama's suggestion I have starting including the date that new people were added to the list. This might not be 100% accurate but hopefully it will help you find the new joiners rather than going through the whole list each time a new one is published.

While the list is still dominated by the USA we are expanding around the world with new members joining from countries as far apart as El Salvador, South Africa and the Philippines.

In the US Florida is just holding on to the crown with 14 listings, edging out Texas on 13. North Carolina is still in the running with 9 listings.

If you are one of the US listings without a declared state feel free to let me know your state and I will amend the list. Don't worry no one will come knocking on your door.

Here is the latest list of homesteaders and preppers. My apologies if I have missed anyone from the list that has already contacted me - just post in the comments again. Or if you know anyone else who should be on the list let me know.


Homesteaders & Preppers on steemit (v8) :





If you found this post useful or interesting please do upvote, resteem and follow. Thank you.

You might also be interested in some of my other posts :



http://SteemitHomesteaders.slack.com

Learn About SteemitHomesteaders Here!

Sort:  

Wow! What a great list I will keep this and follow everyone as soon as I am able. I am in Okeechobee, FL on 2 and 20 acres....my sister is @organicprepper and I am Melissa @joearnold. Would love to be added...I tried slack but was not able to get on due to my old browser...so I am on Rose's new mangochat channel she put a link yesterday on Facebook...Thank you so much for going to the trouble to do this...
Blessings,
Melissa

Glad you like the list. I've now added you and your sister for the next edition.

I hope you are okay there in Okeechobee, Florida as it looks like you might be in the path of Irma.

And thank you for the resteem - much appreciated.

My pleasure, glad to be back in the saddle...still have much more to do, especially in the yard and the insurance adjuster is here right now walking around with my husband ..just so happy to have electric! Thank you for thinking of us...Hoping we do not get Maria...Crazy...Jose and maria...joseph and mary...
Blessings
Melissa

Great post @pennsif the homestead slackers group is a great initiative for the community to support and encourage like-minded steemians. And establishing the #homesteadslackers tag is a move towards unifying the people who want to participate and easily find and follow other homesteaders, gardeners, farmers and related lifestyles.

Thank you. Yes the #homesteadslackers tag is a great idea.

And thank you for the resteem.

I am in Oklahoma, and am excited to be included in this list! This is so helpful!!! Resteeming!

I've now moved you to Oklahoma in the list. That state is coming up strong.

And thank you for the resteem. Much appreciated.

Thank you so much!

wow... @pennsif
just visiting homestead and i guess you guys are doing great!
need more info on how to qualify ...
thanks for this support and info

Hi @kenhudoy, thanks for dropping by.

Are you a homesteader, or a prepper? No problem to join the list if you are.

Am a homesteader but busy now with my post graduate thesis @pennsif
I plan posting some good tips while home steading... Do check my blog post for some natural remedies...

Very impressive, it's exciting we've found so many people with like interests! I agree that more needs to be done to keep users active... I'd like to brainstorm more ideas so I can help keep the community moving forward too!

Do let me know what ideas you come up with. It needs everyone working together I think.

Maybe we could have a check in system? Like if one of our homesteaders in the community doesn't post for over 2 weeks or something, we could reach out to them. Maybe some sort of buddy or mentor type system?

That would be a very good idea. I guess the tricky bit would be how to make contact with them unless we have an email address or similar.

I do like the idea of the mentor / buddy system - particularly for new steemians. I've used it in other online platforms and it has been very useful. Maybe it is something we could try developing through the Homesteaders Slack group...

Woohoo! 200! That's quite a good number! Glad to be a part of the growing community!

250 here we come...

Amazing to see the name in the list i am very happy because i will learn a lot of interesting information and we share topics about homestead and plants specialy for food.
Best regard.

Muchas gracias por el 'resteem'.

Un placer cualquier cosa a la orden.

That's quite a list! Thank you to you and @greenacrehome for all your work on bringing us together.

Thank you.

What a wonderful job you all are doing connecting and growing the homesteading and prepping community! Thank you!

Thank you. It takes a bit of time, but it is a great way to get to know all the new homesteaders and preppers coming on to steemit.

Thank you so much ..once again!

Yay found my name. Woohoo! :) Resteeming!

Thank you for the resteem - much appreciated.

You are always welcome!

I also want to add, and I think here will be seen by many, a reminder to take time to visit other homesteader's individual pages, by clicking on their names, and checking out their feed. I have found many great articles I would have never found if I only read my feed, or under the homesteading topic!

Good point.

Another Okie homesteader here!

Welcome! I have now added you to the list for the next version.

nice detailed list and some folks actually use names kinda bold :) thanks for sharing I've resteemed :) I'm glad I don't see my name as I see myself as a want to be a part of these movements but not yet actively practicing the life style :)

Hi @freakygeak and the resteem - much appreciated.

Let me know when you are ready to be added to the list.

Homesteading is a lot of work. People come on, get the needed information, then they leave for a while. The internet is seen more as a utility than as entertainment to pass the time.

They'll be back when they need to look something up. At that time, they'll also contribute their 2 cents. Then they will leave again.

Us Newbies are going to be here more often.

Hi @momotek, thanks for dropping by. Yes people come and go. Are you a homesteader?

I may be new to steemit but not the internet I'm here and there both for info and fun and when I finally figure out this blogging stuff others two cents :D via upvotes ;) as well as what info they like to share/inpart who knows they might learn from me or correct me on a thing or two :)

Please add us to the next version. We are here to make friends.

You are now on the list ready for the next edition. Thank you.

What an impressive list of homesteaders here on Steemit! That's amazing. I haven't seen posts from many of these folks on my own, so I'll definitely use this list. It's nice to see so many homesteading folks come over to Steemit. I hope folks enjoy their time here!

And the list keeps growing. It's now at 210. New homesteaders keep popping up like mushrooms in a forest 😊

Will probably wait for 225 before I put out the next edition.

We are just getting started and this was very helpful. How do we make the list?

Welcome to steemit !

I have added you to the list ready for the next edition.

I've dropped off the radar a little bit recently due to family issues but I'm still trying to catch up as best I can ;)

Good to see you back @eggmeister. Hope all goes well.

Thank you :)
Sorry for late reply (see my current post for reason why)

Congratulations @pennsif! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thank you.

It is true that while there is 200 in the list, not all of them may be active.

Supporting each other to grow mutually and as a community is a must :)

It also makes Steemit more enjoyable when you have real people upvoting and comment XD

Thank you. Yes communities on steemit are all important.

Hey there! I just wanted to inform you that your article has been included and linked in the most recent issue of the Weekly Homesteading Newsletter! Please check it out if you have the time! Thank you and have a great day!

Hi there, my nale is Ed, I am from France, and would like to be a part of this community of preppers, I mainly do business for survive, have a poetical way of seeing stuff, and prep on a day to day basis as long as I am not dead yet. try.

Hi @edmesmer, good to meet you. I have added you to the list. You are the first member in France 😊

The new version will be coming out shortly.

I thought we were on the list, I might just be blind though and don't see it. Please add us if we are not. Thanks for working this list up!

Yes you are on the list - in the USA, Kentucky section.

your post is very nice, full pack of knowledge and very attractive :-