You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Harvesting And Saving Seeds ~ Making Your Garden Stay FREE!

in #homesteading7 years ago

Impressive collection of seeds there!

After having success with a few seeds I collected last year, I've started really getting into seed collecting this year. I like trying new varieties (including from Chase Organics) but I hope by next year I'll be able to use at least 50% of home produced seed.

The other area of propagation I've got into this year is cuttings. It is amazing what will grow. We were drying a whole bunch of sage a couple of weeks back, and after stripping off the leaves I chopped up the stalks into 1 inch lengths. I popped them in damp compost and amazingly about 80% of them have taken. Isn't nature wonderful!

Sort:  

Wow, I really need to get into cutting! Thanks for the inspiration to take it to the next level @pennsif!!

I went on a one day plant propagation workshop last month that got me going on this. Once I realised how easy it is I've been taken cuttings all over the place. I've got dozens and dozens and dozens of little pots on the go now - plenty to share around in the spring.