Black King Snake found while out walking the farm.

in #homesteading6 years ago

I know spring has arrived when I see the first snake. This was a very large King snake that was sunning in the top branch of a rhododendron yesterday. It is nearly 6 feet long. He really caught me by surprise as I walked up the driveway.

IMG_20180428_121744.jpg

King snakes are one of the few snakes that eat other snakes, even rattlesnakes as they are immune to their poison. The word King in the name denotes it eats other snakes as in King cobra.

IMG_20180428_121759.jpg

Thanks for stopping by. Steem on!

Sort:  

My dad said we want those king snakes to eat the copperheads we have here. Whew we killed (I should say my mom killed them) 6 copperheads last year. And just 2 days ago she killed baby ones too. She just kills them and let me feed it to the chickens.

I've always heard they were great to have around. Not sure whether I have several or I keep seeing the same one.
We have copperheads here too. I found a small one last fall. I don't leave those alive when I find them either.

It sure would've startled me to see one draped across the top branches of a bush...I don't think to look for snakes up high! I don't mind the non poisonous ones though.

I know right. I have had one fall out of a branch and land on my shoulder before when I was walking in the creek. That was a funny dance I did for sure.

Well, there's a surprise. At least the snakes in my area have the good graces to stay on the ground!

I haven't seen a one this year, but I have identified 6 individual sidewinders on my daily foray in the desert. From their tracks. 2 are almost certainly pregnant females. What is even more important, I don't think my dog has seen one, either.

We have occasional king snakes, and even less occasional diamondbacks. I've seen a few tracks...

Most of the nasties in the desert are nocturnal, so I make sure the sun is good and up before I go thrashing about.

That's very interesting. I don't have any experience with dessert animals but I know sidewinders are dangerous. The only thing I've seen here that is dangerous is copperheads. Stay safe out there!

I was hanging out laundry a couple days ago, when a rustling of the leaves by the post caught my attention... Garden snake :)

I love garden snakes. I used o play with them when I was a kid. Thanks

a long snake.
I am very coward with snakes. especially when meeting with a small snake. I will run for fear and amusement


Great Post
@qberry

Oh my - You can just keep them over there with you!!! Nice to see them in photos though :) Looks like you had lovely weather - thanks for sharing :)

Thanks. Yes it's been a beautiful week so far here. I don't mind the non-poisonous ones.

You might make people hurt themselves with this post. LOL

I know some people like that.

that's very. I really don't like snake and I don't think what I should do when I see them ehehe

Congratulations @qberry! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 12000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 13000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Be ready for the next contest!
Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @qberry! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 13000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 14000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @qberry! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 14000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 15000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @qberry! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 15000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 16000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @qberry! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 16000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 17000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - The party continues
Christmas Challenge - Send a gift to to your friends

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @qberry! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 17000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 18000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @qberry! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Hello @qberry! This is a friendly reminder that a Partiko user has just followed you! Congratulations!

To get realtime push notification on your phone about new followers in the future, download and login Partiko using the link below. You will also get 3000 Partiko Points for free, and Partiko Points can be converted into Steem token!

https://partiko.app/referral/partiko

I wouldn't think to look up in the trees for snakes! That's a big one!

Congratulations @qberry! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @qberry! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 88000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 89000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz - Hive Gamification Experience