Blacksmithing - Old World Art Form. A two day class.

in #homesteading6 years ago

I can make stuff out of hot steel now! I completed 16 hours of blacksmith classes this weekend at Floyd Center for Arts and it was blast. It was even better than I expected. We didn't waste any time at all. After a brief introduction and safety instructions we were firing up our forges and hammering steel. I never expected to pick it up so easily. Not that I'm a professional now or anything but I figured we'd spend a lot of time on techniques and wouldn't really get to make anything that we wanted. However, after a few pointers we were tapering off our steel, making rat tails, and any number of shapes. The rest of the first day and all of the second day we were free to make whatever we wanted.

IMG_20180415_132438_result.jpg

Our first mini project was to learn to make hooks. I couldn't believe it, that's exactly what @qberryfarms had asked me to make her when I left for blacksmith class. I thought, yeah right, we'll probably not get to make whatever we want. As it turns out, hooks are the perfect first project for blacksmiths because it entails all the basics you need to know. We took a section of square steel 1/4 inch wide and about a foot long and first heated one end in the forge until it was glowing orange. Hammering the end while turning it with our other hand tapered off one end and drew it out longer. Then we learned to heat it up just right in order to twist the rat tail tip and bend that over into a hook. On the other end we bent it at 90 degrees after tapering it off into a sharp point to use it as the nail. I can't explain how satisfying it is to make something than will most definitely outlive me.

IMG_20180414_095540_result.jpg

Each day was strewn with new an interesting facts I had never heard before as well. Our master blacksmith teacher was Bryan Fritts and he was full of interesting information. Right away he told us of the importance of the anvil and gave us information on the various ones in the blacksmith shop. For instance he showed us how most anvils will ring loudly when you hit them with a hammer. Then stepping up to this one anvil and he hits it. It just makes a sort of thud sound with no ring. Bryan explained that during the civil war, blacksmiths were among the first to be killed to prevent them from working for the enemy. No army could survive without blacksmiths! The soldiers in enemy territory would listen for the sounds of a blacksmith and immediately hunt him down and kill him. So during the civil war anvils were created with different metal properties so that they would not create a loud ring. I thought this was fascinating.

IMG_20180414_095526_result.jpg

I ended up making a lot of hooks, each one different than the others. I began adding twists in the square tube steel to add some details and moved up to using much larger steel like 1 inch square tubing blanks. For me this was even more fun and rewarding because you have to hit it as hard as possible to make it move much. By the end of the last day I had made a plant hanger, many hooks, a cool blacksnake for my artsy piece and an herb hook. The herb hook still needs to have a hole drilled through it and a rivet installed. Bryan showed me how to make my own rivets from a piece of round bar steel and using my torch to heat it read hot. I'll do this at home to finish that piece.

IMG_20180415_132452_result.jpg This old home made power hammer is very cool, power by your foot stomping on it

All in all it was so enjoyable to me that I've been thinking of the best way to make my own forge to use on the farm. Believe it or not the anvil is the hardest to find and most expensive. Although you can find smaller lighter ones even on Amazon for a few hundred dollars, a real full size anvil can easily approach $1000! I had no idea, but the average price is $4 per pound and many anvils can weigh 300 lbs. The forge could be easy to build. You just need a good metal table, a blower and something to use as the main bowl to hold the hot coal. We were told and old brake drum makes the best base for the coals since it also has a holes in the bottom for a blower to blow through and heat the coals.

IMG_20180415_132507_result.jpg This hand cranked drill press was also very impressive

Now that I have completed an extensive welding class and this blacksmith class, I don't even know where to start with all the tools I want to get and things I'd like to make. I guess a welding machine comes first so I can use it to make a blacksmith forge. These forges are very handy for lots of work. If you ever need to bend or cut steel a forge is great for making that process much easier. Hopefully someday you'll see a post from me building a blacksmith forge! Next month is Forging class which is a continuation of blacksmithing and covers making your own metal to then build your projects out of. You just collect scrap metal like shell casings and broken tools and melt them down. Then you can shape them to whatever you desire. I'm really liking these old world arts and crafts. Oh and you ladies, don't let the manliness of the art fool you. We were told that quite often women make the best blacksmiths. Since ordinarily they do not hit as hard, they tend to do the most intricate and refined work.

IMG_20180416_090848_result.jpg Here are some of the hooks and the snake I made, and the herb hanger

IMG_20180416_090759_result.jpg This plant hanger was requested by @qberryfarms. It's sideways in the picture

Thanks for reading, hope you enjoyed and were inspired to build something!

Sort:  

That is all fascinating! In all my reading about the Civil War, I didn't know that about blacksmiths being a specific target, but it sure makes sense. Your hooks are great and I like the little snake, too! I think there's nothing better than having something unique and artistic that nobody else has :)

Oh man, it was a ball. It's a really rewarding art/craft since you know whatever you make can last forever. thank you!

What you have done here is so amazing. :) congratulations on the job well done :0

Thanks very much, I appreciate it.

Great post! And such an interesting topic. You will have to keep us updated on all the metal work you create with your new skill. Thanks for sharing!

Thank you. I will definitely keep posting on it. I appreciate the feedback.

CONGRATULATIONS!!!
Your post has been featured in my weekly Preppers' Curation Post today

Awesome. Thank you very much.

A useful skill to have.

I did a similar blacksmithing course just before I started on steemit last summer.

In fact I used a photo of me on the course in my very first intro post.

It really is. I found it to be very enjoyable and think I will get into it more. Hopefully you liked it too. It's a dying art.

It was certainly enjoyable - but hard work!

For sure. I have the blisters to prove it!

I think "I can make stuff out of hot steel now!" is the best opening line to a blog post I've seen in a long time :) Very cool post @qberry! Thanks for sharing some of your new blacksmith knowledge with us. I like your plant hanger a lot. Good work!

That very kind of you. Thanks a lot. I'm definitely pretty excited about it.

You are now officially a Manly Man. Nothing more manly that forging metal. Seriously though that is amazing.

Ha, it's a great feeling, except not quite as manly when your hands are blistered and forearms are still sore the next day 🙂

This is really cool! Those hooks came out really well! I can't wait to see your smith shop once it's set up. :))

Thank you. I can't wait either 🙂

It's so good to read a post where so much enthusiasm shines through it! Plus it's informative about a subject that used to be very common knowledge and now seems almost exotic. Please keep on writing more of these amazing metalworking articles.
I'm not sure if you saw this post from a month-or-so ago: https://steemit.com/metalwork/@stortebeker/meanwhile-back-at-the-ranch
The metalworking part is kinda secondary, behind all the other cool things I missed during my wall-building project, but if you haven't seen it, I think you might like it.
One thing that sticks out of what Mark (the traveling, metalworking, puppeteer) said is how he loves making quality knifes out of good steel, but what gets him his most of his money is making art and jewelry objects out of scrap.
He takes a piece of discarded rebar, and within minutes - like you've showed here - turns it into a cool necklace piece or a fancy looking curtain-rod, depending on the size.

Thank you very much. I'll definitely keep it up. And that post was interesting. Love to see people make stuff from nothing.

You know what, @qberry? At first I thought you were someone else: another Steemian, @proto26, who is also enthusiastic about metalwork. He published a post recently about making his own foundry: https://steemit.com/foundry/@proto26/my-homemade-foundry He may have more posts on the subject coming up soon. I don't know if you know each other, but I think you should! Is there a Steemit community for metal-workers? ;-)

Awesome workshop, I appreciate those hand and foot powered machines. My mom used to have one of those foot powered sewing machines. Impressive hooks you made, I like the snake, it looks like he is frozen in movement :)

Thanks buddy, I appreciate it. Those people powered devices are so interesting to me. I'd love to be able to make something like that power hammer some day. I was really happy with the progress made in just 16 hours of class. I'll be dangerous one day :)

Such a great post i have always been fascinated watching black smiths at work

Thanks, it was a great time. It wasn't nearly as hard as I imagined it would be.

Thats cool it looks real hard work to me but must be such fun as well

It is fun and feels very therapeutic.

I can imagine maybe its something i will explore when I retire

Hello...@qberry This is @realbot. We works for real steemians. We are giving you monthly service. You will get 80+ upvotes per day in one post for just 0.5 SBD/30 days. You can add maximum 4 post per day in one account. For maximum payout in one post just send 4 SBD and type full payout in one post per day.
Here you are gonna 150-200% return. in 30 day's. Returning policy obviously approximately. This is limited cause we can't serve people in loss. So here the rules is first come first serve. You obviously send SBD from that id which you want to get the service or mention the id name in memo with other details That's why we can serve properly.
If we face any kind of technical problem in the time of serving we will increase your validity or refund you but if you forgot about post then @realbot team isn't responsible for that perpose. Please follow realbot to get latest news and better service
And also resteem please to know others

One more important thing, before finishing validity if you don't renew your service then you might be in waiting list.

overpay will be consider as donation.

visit this link for all information
https://steemit.com/esteem/@realbot/be-the-part-of-most-beneficial-monthly-upvote-bot-ever-for-just-1-sbd-12e7106c85aa5

Beat it spambot. Gett outta my comments.

You are learning an skill and art form that can come in handy in so many ways in the future. plus, if the worse happens, you will be a highly valued member of any group.

I appreciate that. It's so handy to be able to make stuff, especially when you live so far from a town. It can be quicker to just make it or fix it yourself. I'm enjoying it for sure and feel more prepared.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by qberry from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.