Sort:  

Oh my gosh, I'm sending the link for this to the Husband. This is genius. We spent so much time hauling wood across the yard by the tractor bucket load and then stacking it on the porch...though I guess burning the calories was a good thing in my case lol. Now we just need a fork attachment or whatever for the tractor...assuming ours could even handle a pallet full of wood. Hmmm

Awesome. I hope he can use the tip. It's worked out great for me. I also used to use the tractor bucket before I ended up with all these pallets.

looks like you have a beautiful home.

Thank you very much. That's very kind of you.

Doing thangs I'd love to want to do but don't. Power to ya m8.

Ha. Thanks for that! :)

upvoted and following and thanks for your support..(my market report.)

Thank you very much. i appreciate it. And you're welcome!

If only I had a tractor!!! The more things I could do :) At the moment I split it then load it by hand in the the back of my truck then drive it the the shed then unload piece by piece then stack - it's a process for sure!

I love it! I have a big problem moving firewood and coal as I have to get it out of the trailer and up to under our papers (big shed on legs) we live on a hill so it means three flights of stairs and a long sloped path. Doesn't take long but my plumbers knees are feeling it. Answer.? Wait for the cows on our field to go home to the mountains and drive the whole trailer up with our 4x4, as long as the hill dries out and the owners of the cows will drop the fence for me. Two runs and I should hopefully have it full.

Seems like we always have to be thinking of ways to save our bodies from overuse! I feel for the plumbers knees. Mine are no good either.

The other thing we plan is multiple rocket heaters. Use 2/3s less wood, less wood to haul!

Yes! We used a rocket stove to cook on for a year. We could cook a meal with a handful of sticks and a few pine cones. They are awesome.

Yeah and rocket mass heaters have taken them to a while different level. I have plans for a rocket cooking range and a rocket water boiler. We want to build in a similar style to an earthships so hopefully we won't need as much in the way of space heating.

@qberry your article about firewood brought me back to my childhood years where I used to collect small tree branches as firewood in additional to the firewood my parent bought from a vendor
The difference is I don't see how the vendor collects the firewood though. You phots used in this article say it all.
Upvoted
Cheers

Thanks for that. Glad I stirred a memory :)

You are welcome. Looking forward for your futre posts.

You and I are on the same page, my friend. Except! Where you use lazy, I call it efficiency...Lol....Steem on

I'm with you, I generally call it efficiency when I'm discussing with the wife :)

ROFL...Of course!

Good idea man, always great to refine your systems and make life that little bit easier!
So tell me, how long do you leave your wood to season before using it?

Thank you much. I've found that if I get the wood split in the summer, it is ready by the winter. It doesn't seem to matter when the tree came down, the wood doesn't start to really dry until it is split. I've had trees down for two years, that still wouldn't burn well because they were just split.

The older i get the more "Lazy" i get. That is a great idea for moving firewood around. I am going to have to copy that idea.

That's definitely true for me too. Thanks bud, it worked very well for me this year! I can stack them 3 or 4 pallets high as well so I'll be able to get a lot of them in a woodshed.

Great post dear thanks @qberry for some inspiration

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by qberry from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

i'm totally with you if there is an easier way to do something then i'll find it haha