TheListGoesON

in #homesteading7 years ago

So, it has been HOT, HOT, HOT this past week. And if you're not an up at dawn kinda person (which i am totally not), you can't get anything done that has to do with outside! We have so many things that need doing, and just can't catch a break. I think August is punishing us for having such an odd summer. Anyhow, on the to-do list is the duck pen.IMG_4026.jpg This is our duck oasis. Our very first garden location (man what a failure, lol) we need to put up the fence to divide the area, but now, I am doubting my reasoning (don't blink, right!) IMG_4027.jpg I moved the igloo dog house onto the pallet....that is where momma duck, Persephone, Persi for short, and our 6 little quackers sleep.IMG_4028.jpg and this is the overall view.

My thoughts were to divide the oasis for the safety of the ducklings as they get older. Having a big daddy duck, Hades, Desi for short, can be a danger to them as they grow up. So, now, I just don't know. Everyone is getting along nicely, Desi has other girl ducks to distract him from the loss of attention from Persi, and even the chickens don't mind the ducklings. One thing I do need to work on in the oasis is shading, gotta figure out a way to provide a bit more shade and shelter, although, the ducks have the run of the entire back yard, which is very nicely shaded in the back pasture (where they prefer to hang out, unless they're pruning my flower beds, haha)