You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to Build Soil in the Garden: Chop and Drop (Permaculture Technique) (Vlog & Photo Log)

in #homesteading6 years ago

One of the best things about joining Steemit was discovering this world of permaculture and food forests. It has changed my whole approach, instead of digging meticulous rows and aiming for a fine tilth, I just find a space about the right size and work on top of it, chopping down, adding compost and organic matter and planting what I would like to grow there. I've just realised this afternoon I've collected a pile of potential mulch! It is so much more fun and much more accessible for urban dwellers like me who want try things a little differently. Not everything will work (not enough observation yet), but I have been inspired to do something and see what happens.

Sort:  

i'm so happy to hear this!!! wow, this really inspires me to keep sharing here!! thanks for your reflections; i'm so happy to hear about your shift and healthy garden experimentation :) it's so great when we can have open enough minds to try different methods that are more aligned with natural rhythms. bring on the abundance. many thanks!

Apart from anything else, it is just so much fun. This afternoon I felt like I was playing in the garden, rather than working. Of course, it is so good healthwise to be outside and Active, but the additional element of play and creativity has made it a fabulous afternoon. Please do keep sharing!