You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How

in #homesteading6 years ago

I have been saving up onion skins for this very reason!! When we moved to our homestead this June, I made sure that my bag-o-skins came with me, and I've been slowly but surely building up my stash. What a gorgeous color, soft and golden.

Thanks so much for sharing the information. I have never dyed before, so I was planning on cutting my teeth on dyeing with onion skins. Didn't know that they didn't need a mordant!

So glad to have found you on SteemIt. I am looking forward to learning more from you, and whenever I finally do get to dyeing, I'll be sure to share the results!

Sort:  

Thank you so much! I too, have moved and packed and carried my bag-o-skins with me!! Haha! Best of luck with your dyeing! Oh, and P.S. you can use mordants if you want, and they can darken, brighten, or even change the color ( such as the rusty iron) but you just don't have to