An Update After Ages

in #homesteading3 years ago (edited)

An Update After Ages

Hello Everyone, so it's been a long time since I've published a blog post. This post is to briefly describe what I've been up to in the three years since I posted last. Time is strange in the hills. It feels like it goes by slowly with the breakneck pace of the city absent here, and yet before I knew it three full years had gone by. I've been living in sync with the earth's rotations, going about every day and doing what I can while living the dream. Some of what's been happening in this time is as follows

f2de4666-3022-49a4-97a6-41c4c27d6e36.jpeg
The beautiful views from the place I call home

Building, Building, Building!

I last posted about how I built myself a basic shelter using thatch and tarps as roofing. While it provided a basic shelter and allowed me to move to the land, it quickly proved that it wasn't able to withstand the heavy monsoons. As I was living inside a tent even within this shack, I was able to stay dry and safe, but it was imperative that I build myself a structurally sound space for which work began in earnest. I'm writing this post now from a beautiful mud house that we built from scratch and I will eventually post about the process. Other than housing, we set to work on building a bathroom, shower space, kitchen and studio space for work.

IMG_20190313_125408.jpg
My shelter slowly unravelling with the weather

Growing

As infrastructure was taking up most of our time, I didnt pay as much attention to planting crops as I could have but nevertheless we grew a few batches of vegetables with mixed levels of success.

IMG_20201212_095001.jpg
Cabbage grown on the land that was later made into kimchi

Discovering The Surroundings

One of my side projects on the land was to learn as much from it as possible. As we had limited resources for planting our own crops, I figured I'd learn about the plants that grow wild in the area. It's easy to discount something as a 'weed' but the more research I did, I discovered how useful the wild plants in the area actually are with multiple medicinal and edible uses.

IMG_20200924_110459.jpg
Beautiful Giant Lobelia that grows wild in the area that is an expectorant and promotes lung health

Cooking

Living off grid means that I have to be solely responsible for everything that happens here including feeding myself. While at times it feels like a chore, it's also allowed for me to upskill my abilities and make food that is a pleasure to eat, creating dishes that are wholesome, tasty and nutritious.

IMG_20200618_182103.jpg
Chickpea cutlets on flat bread garnished with wild herbs

Creating

I've also been creating more, with art and more recently with music. Using creativity as a form of meditation, healing and giving in to the flow.

1621928946889.jpeg
Handrawn illustration and story telling through art

Living My Best Life

I've been truly lucky to be able to live in the hills and call this place my home. I've been so grateful to be here, especially when the pandemic hit and while it has still affected us in minor ways, I'm lucky that I can use this pandemic time for self growth and healing, instead of having to suffer the horrors of what it's doing to our cities. I've been living consciously and slowly and will eventually post more in detail about everything that's happening here. It's good to be back, and looking forward to this journey continuing to unfold with beauty and grace.

IMG_20200904_183128.jpg

qjrE4yyfw5pQYiuVvgYiUBP16WHGGN7UNn1BCdGdzSmDw68KpxE2zcvm4CzaCumskv1FujM7JB1bkxJUvXvsgCdwGPGf6HSzyu9avKXtzqgNXmAqAEvhwgr2.png

Sort:  

Wow! What a life!

I've been living in sync with the earth's rotations, going about every day and doing what I can while living the dream

sounds poetic and amazing and, of course, very natural.

A lot of goodness in this post ( from food to art ) and it sure seems like you have leveled up majorly. Am looking forward to your future updates about the now and the past ( including building the mud house ).

Amazing to hear that you even have a studio set up.

Come join the Natural Medicine discord soon. You seem to fit in perfectly.

Talk to you soon!

Thank you so much! I'm definitely so grateful to be doing what I do. It's been a process but the journey to get to where I am now has been so incredible. Will continue to tell my tales through subsequent posts.

hi! welcome back.many things have changed. now we have this community thing...

educate yourself about the @OCD community upport initiative

PS> and welcome to FungiLovers, as well. you are subscriber No.800 -- this was pretty nice rounded figure to take a notice
:)
lets celebrate it with !PIZZA

Connect

Trade


@soulturtle! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @qwerrie.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza

Thank you! Yes, I'm still learning about all the changes but making my way towards being an active participant of this amazing community and all the the subcommunities within in.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Hello stranger, welcome back. 😁 Seeing your name pop up as I scanned through the homesteading tag brought a smile to my face. You've been missed and I've often wondered how things were going for you.

Glad you found your way over to Hive. There must still be signs left there, or have you been keeping tabs on things from the background?

Looking forward to seeing your mud house. I hope you took plenty of progression photos. 😉

Thank you so much. I've been wondering about all the beautiful souls here too. I was living in a tent with no internet connection, so that made it so much harder to be a part of anything. Didn't have a clue about what was happening with the cryptoverse and I was quite amazed to hear about what happened with steemit, but thankfully there were some awesome people on discord servers who were able to catch me up to speed and guide me on making my way here. Building the mud house was quite the journey and I do have the whole thing documented. I've got 3 years worth of content to share, just need to organise it all and get down to posting.

Looking forward to seeing all your adventures. I figured you must have been disconnected for a while, but still hoped we'd see you again someday.

I see Vincent has already mentioned the natural medicine community. Have you discovered communities yet? The link at the bottom will take you NM if you're interested.

Once again, it's lovely to have you back. I wonder if many of those you remember still post. @pennsif isn't as active as he was, but still pops in from time to time.

Your post has been featured in the Lotus Garden newsletter which will be published tomorrow.


You've been curated by @minismallholding for Natural Medicine's homesteading newsletter, supporting gardeners, permaculturalists, foragers, environmentalists and other earth centred relationships with the earth.
CommunityIIDiscord

Thank you so much, I'm still learning but looking forward to being active here again. There are a few familiar faces around but also I suppose a lot of people who aren't around anymore. Thank you for the feature, it feels so good to be back.

Congratulations @soulturtle! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 4000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 4250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

welcome back to the blogchain lovely photos nice to here what you are up to.

Thank you, it's good to be back.

Amazing! I'm sure many dream of living such a life 🤗

Thank you, it really is a beautiful life to be living but also a lot of work! Definitely feel blessed to be where I am now.

Welcome back! We had a bit of a sabbatical ourselves.

Thank you, glad to be back. I can imagine, homesteading is a permanent never ceasing relationship with the land. Rest is as important as being productive here or otherwise.

❤️. Glad you are back

Glad to be back, and thanks for all your help guiding me here!

thanks for sharing. it looks so beautiful out there.