You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to Build Soil in the Garden: Chop and Drop (Permaculture Technique) (Vlog & Photo Log)

A Brush Scythe was called an idiot stick or more charitably a weed whacker when I was growing up. Yeah I spent sometime with one in my youth. I am interested in your post because we have a grassy hill in some common space near our house. In my part of California, they obsess about wild fires so they clear all the cover but then the area gets over run with weeds. In the past they would have hit the weeds with chemicals. Thankfully they don't do that but there needs to be a weed managements plan.

Sort:  

Glad you know of the brush scythe, great tool. I've seen what you're talking about. its tricky cause the weeds are most likely healing the damage incurred through clearing and are a response to disturbance. Management can be tricky... Goats are great at managing brush as long as they are contained;) Happy no more glyphosate is being sprayed, that stuff is no Bueno big time.