My List Of Homesteading Podcasts Worth Listening To

in #homesteading7 years ago

microphone-2.jpg

I'm a podcast junkie! I listen to podcasts of all kinds but the podcasts I most listen to and enjoy are homesteading related podcasts. It's the reason I started such a podcast.

I find podcasts inspiring, educational and entertaining and I can think of no better use of multi-tasking than that of listening to podcasts while I'm doing just about anything else.

So what are my favorite homesteading podcasts to listen to?

First of all let me say that some of these podcasts no longer do new episodes but they have a large back catalog to listen to and benefit from.

The Survival Podcast

http://www.thesurvivalpodcast.com

This podcast is so much more than a homesteading podcast but certainly does have much to offer the aspiring or experienced homesteader. With over 2000 episodes this 5 day a week podcast done by Jack Spirko will give you many hours of listening entertainment.

Living Homegrown Podcast

http://www.livinghomegrown.com/podcast

Hosted by Theresa Loe, this weekly podcast offers great tips on gardening, food preservation, cooking and many other homesteading related topics. Theresa is extremely pleasant to listen to and obviously has a great deal of knowledge to share.

Encyclopedia Botanica

http://www.seattleurbanfarmco.com/blog

This great gardening podcast is hosted by Hilary Dahl and Kellie Phelan for Seattle Urban Farm Co. If you want to have the best garden ever then this is one you want to listen to. So much useful information packed into a short weekly podcast.

Living Free In Tennessee

http://livingfreeintennessee.com

This is one I've only been listening to for a short while but I've really been enjoying it. Hosted by Nicole Sauce, this podcast tackles a variety of topics related to homesteading that are very useful to anyone interested in self sufficiency and sustainability.

The Urban Farm Podcast

https://www.urbanfarm.org/blog/podcast

This 3 day a week podcast hosted by Gregg Peterson is especially focused on Urban Farming but has tons of great information for any homesteader. This podcast is an interview show with many great guests eager to share their knowledge with the world.

Chicken Thistle Farm CoopCast

http://ctfcoopcast.libsyn.com

These podcasters don't seem to be actively podcasting anymore but still a great one to listen to. Chicken Thistle Farm is run by married couple Andy and Kelli, they are located in Upstate NY and run a small vegetable CSA as well as providing pastured chickens, eggs and pork to local customers. The podcast is very educational and sometimes very funny. They are real and what I mean by that is, they don’t sugar coat the farm life.

Sow Edible Permaculture Podcast

http://www.sowedible.com

This is hosted by another husband and wife duo, Stacy and Amy; and they share the adventure of building their Self-sufficient Permaculture Farm and Off-grid house. This is another couple that not only shares the highlights of their farm but the struggles and failures as well, they are very likable and fun to listen to.

Diego Footer’s Creative Destruction Podcast

http://www.permaculturevoices.com/blog-2/podcast-2

Previously known as Permaculture Voices this podcast is hosted by Diego Footer, he and his guests talk about all aspects of permaculture, not just how it is used on your property but how permaculture principles can be used in all areas of life. I particularly like the urban farmer episodes he does with Curtis Stone where he talks about how he has set up a successful, profitable farm with a small amount of land in the city and The Grass Fed Life episodes with Darby Simpson.

Pioneering Today Podcast

http://melissaknorris.com/podcast-2

This podcast is hosted by Melissa K. Norris and she does this podcast to inspire folks in the Christian faith and pioneer roots. Her goal is to help you implement the best of the pioneer lifestyle into your modern one. One of the things I like about this podcast is that she takes us into the homestead kitchen more than most of the others and talks about preserving food and preparing meals. Lots to learn from this podcast.

The Beginning Farmer Show

http://thebeginningfarmer.com

He hasn't done one in a while but this podcast comes to us from Ethan Book, who has a farm in Iowa. This one is a journey podcast as well, you get to listen to Ethan talk about his struggles, successes and thoughts about farming. Ethan hasn’t been farming his whole life but he has been doing it a while now so I don’t know how long he will be able to call himself a beginning farmer. I guess as long as he keeps on learning something new about farming, which will probably be his lifetime.

_______________________________________

These are just a few of my favorites but there are many others I listen to. If you enjoy listening to homesteading podcasts maybe you would like listening to the one I do as well.

Check it out:

The Modern Homesteading Podcast

http://modernhomesteadingpodcast.com

_______________________________________

Enjoy Your Many Hours of Listening!

Do You have a favorite you would add to the list?

Sort:  

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! I found similar content that readers might be interested in:
http://smalltownhomestead.com/my-10-favorite-homesteading-podcasts/

Congratulations @sthomestead! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hey, I don't have a homestead podcast, but I do have 2 excellent ones that I'd love to get your thoughts on...

  1. is called Popping the Bubbl. It's about the silicon valley, tech, startups, and entrepreneurship. We cover crypto quite a bit...I bet you'd like it.
  2. The Break It Down Show. I KNOW you'll like this one...4 shows a week. Tons of incredible guests...I'd love to hear what you think.

I post all my shows here on Steemit....but also at
www.poppingthebubbl.com and
www.breakitdownshow.com
Seriously, let me know what you think and I'd love to have your support.