So You THINK You Want To Grow Elephant Garlic?

How You Can Grow A.png

When we moved onto our homestead about 3 years ago, we inherited a few patches of elephant garlic. I didn't know what it was at first, so I was reluctant to eat it. But, after some research and positively identifying it, we gave it a try, and it was delicious! It has a very nice, mild garlic flavor. After that, we decided to begin cultivating it in our garden.

I learned that elephant garlic produces several different structure underground; all of which may be used in different ways to start next years crop. Take a look!

Watch The Video Below

Sort:  

I've only grown standard garlic before, but it seems to have similar stages, which I'm still trying to figure out. I'd say that it goes from clove to the single onion shape then splits into the one we know. I feel like this is meant to happen over a single season, but sometimes it takes two. Or maybe it does the single round stage when it's not under suitable conditions, which is pretty much my garden. I usually get my best garlic from the single rounds.

Your post has been featured in the Lotus Garden newsletter, which will be published tomorrow.


You've been curated by @minismallholding for Natural Medicine's homesteading newsletter, supporting gardeners, permaculturalists, foragers, environmentalists and other earth centred relationships with the earth.
CommunityIIDiscord

Garlic is such a great plant, I am glad to see you have some of it on your property. Thanks for sharing this video!

Papa Pepper channel showed tiny but flavorful garlic and that gave me interest in growing garlic too. I only grown regular garlic in my garden, but it would be nice to see wild/feral crops.

You've been curated by @theherbalhive on behalf of The Herbal Hive.We support any content related to herbalism, from stories about your relationship with medicinal plants, to wildcrafting, foraging, ethnobotany, plant spirituality & herbs as nourishment, as well as the use of natural products to create medicines such as salves and tinctures. Use the tag #theherbalhive or post from our community!
Community II Delegate II Curation Trail
divider.png