You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 2 Minutes with the Farmer: Finding Wild Fruit on the Farm!!!

in #homesteading6 years ago

There is nothing like comming across something new when walking in the woods. Many times we don't take the time to really appreciate nature and what it has to offer. This past July, while hiking on the farm, I discovered a bush I had never seen before.
It was loaded with these berries. After asking a local farmer who I have become very good friends with, he told me they were called Choke Berries. They are edible, but as the name implies they are not the best tasting when eaten right off of the bush. They can be used in cooking and they add a very unique flavor to the dish. When I investigated further I found out that their real name is Aronia Berries.