A quick update - mostly plant progress!

It's been awhile since I've been able to post a real update, so here's a quick look at what's been going on. I am getting ready to head outside and do some more work, so hopefully I'll have a more in-depth update for you soon!

image

This little space is my pride and joy! I have had really good success with quite a few plants, and am disappointed with some other ones. I have, in the flats on the table:

  • borage
  • echinacea
  • caraway
  • Sweet William
  • salad Burnet
  • anise
  • marjoram
  • fenugreek
  • impatiens
  • rosemart
  • coleus
  • eggplants
  • tomatillo

And of course, 18 pots of sweet pea, and a bunch of salad greens and spinach. What are not doing anything are the onion seeds, the hyssop, two other kinds of eggplant, and the angelica. I have one lone cumin seed this giving me a very sad looking little sprout.

image

The celery has finally sprouted, and is growing slowly, slowly, slowly! If memory serves me right, though, this is one of those plants that takes a long time to grow anyway, so... Whatever. I'm just excited to see them here!

image
The aerogardens are doing pretty well. Here you can see that the Greek basil has exploded and almost taken over the container. I haven't had to do much pruning on this at all, and it's made a really nice bushy plant on its own. This is definitely something that I want to try outside as well the summer. The mint and the red basil are also doing okay.

image

The other AeroGarden is a little bit ... wonky. The citrus basil has not gotten as bushy as I would have liked, even though I am attempting to prune it. The red basils here have really weak stems, and have flopped over, grew sideways, and are finally growing back up again. Part of me thinks that they grew too fast, in a spot that was just too warm. These are right next to the refrigerator! This could also be something that I invest space in outside, to see if there's a difference in the way they grow. Experimenting is fun!

Sort:  

Oh my how awesome! Look at all of that greenery, great job! Awww poor little cumin seed lol!
Ugh, celery was my nemesis this year....I killed it overwatering and I haven't seen sprouts on the new seeded stuff. #celeryfail, none this year!! You could try a small fan on the Aerogarden to strengthen the stems of the plants. They might get bushier if they are fighting "wind" <3<3 <3

fingers and eyes crossed for both of our celery!

i'm also thinking about chopping these back pretty heavily, then putting a fan on it for a bit. get them to branch & bush out.

Looking good little seedies! As I've told Karen before, I'm really taking it slow this year on the seed starting but before too long I won't be shutting up about it!
Take care :)

Also, you've been featured in my new curation vlog :) its on my profile if you want to check it out :)