Everbearing Black Mulberry Information (And why you should grow it)

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

Good morning, Steemians!

IMG_2137.JPG

I want to tell you about a little passion of mine: growing food. Today I would like to interest you in the amazing Everbearing Black Mulberry.

Its Latin name is Morus nigra, and it's in the family Moraceae. It originates from southwestern Asia and it's been cultivated so long there that no one really knows how long it's been.

Here is some information I've taken from Wikipedia that some people may find interesting:

Screen Shot 2017-07-06 at 7.34.31 AM.png

Screen Shot 2017-07-06 at 7.34.53 AM.png

Screen Shot 2017-07-06 at 7.35.08 AM.png

Nutrition

Screen Shot 2017-07-06 at 7.35.18 AM.png

Mulberry flower

Screen Shot 2017-07-06 at 7.35.54 AM.png
(img cite: JJ Harrison; pulled from wikipedia page)

Here are some pictures I took this morning of two different Mulberry trees that are fruiting here:

IMG_2132.JPG

IMG_2133.JPG

IMG_2134.JPG

IMG_2135.JPG

IMG_2136.JPG

IMG_2137.JPG

A cutting I'm going to sell for $3

IMG_2138.JPG

You might see the tiny flower already emerging on the cutting. These cutting immediately go to fruit because they were hard wood cuttings from a mature tree. If you were to plant the seeds of a mulberry, you might have to wait 2-3 years to get fruit from the tree that would come from the seeds.

IMG_2139.JPG

The following pictures were taken from Florida's Best Fruiting Plants by Charles R. Boning

IMG_2140.JPG

IMG_2142.JPG

IMG_2143.JPG

So, reasons you should grow mulberry trees:

1. They are like weeds! They grow very easily!

2. They are propagated just as easily! I've been told black and red moringa are among the best tasting and easier to propagate, but the white mulberry boasts a no-stain effect :)

White Mulberry (no mess)

Mullberry_10.jpg
(img cite: http://tcpermaculture.com/site/2015/06/02/permaculture-plants-mulberries/)

3. There are multiple varieties of mulberry - meaning that there's bound to be one that thrives where you live! The Illinois mulberry can be planted almost anywhere from Illinois down to Georgia! The Everbearing Black Mulberry that I have is grown much more in the tropics/subtropics.

4. They're great for your health. Just like blueberries and raspberries, mulberries contain antioxidants that are great for your health (the darker the better!)

Some benefits of mulberries in your diet

Screen Shot 2017-07-06 at 8.00.44 AM.png
(img cite:https://www.organicfacts.net/health-benefits/fruit/mulberries.html)

Well, I hope you all found this informative. Now go out and try to grow something! :)

@vegansilverstack

Hansen's Gift.gif

Sort:  

Mulberry is my absolute favorite fruit! When I was a kid I would spend many weekends at my grandparents house, out behind their barn along the fence were a whole row (probably about 20) Mulberry Trees. Grandma would send me back there to pick a bucket full for a pie, I remember it would take me a long time to fill the bucket because I would eat two of every three I would pick. Grandma would just laugh when she seen me coming into the house and say “you're gonna have a belly ache,” I guess the stains on my face gave it away.

Hahahaha that's awesome!

Great passion and great post! Funny, 5 min ago I was taking pictures of the sun coming up over the fence. They look a lot like the first photo. Keep up the good work in your garden and here on Steemit.

Thank you @anothervoice. Ha that's kind of funny! I will continue to grow things until the day I die! I wish you well :)

Smart man 😉

Great post mate! When I was a kid we used to spend what seemed like forever climbing and eating and playing in our Mulberry tree. It was like free tie dye for all our clothes.. Mum was never impressed!! Hahaha Thanks for a fun memory 🐞

Hehe that's funny! I have memories as an adult already spending an hour at a time a different mulberry trees in Illinois. I have gotten full plenty of times eating and eating and eating. Wherever there was a mature mulberry tree, there was always a lot of bird shit below it haha they would sit there and eat and shit and eat and shit.

They are moreish huh! Do you get silk worms over there?

Very interesting and you can tell you're very passionate about it.

Beautiful post! I have never even had a mulberry but have often wondered if they would grow well here. I share your passion for growing food and medicinal herbs and LOVE learning the many uses and benefits of each. Even things like grape and strawberry leaves often get overlooked for the sake of the fruit but they have so many benefits of their own :)

Im interested in buying a cutting or some seeds! Very cool article, plants are great!

Hmm I'm not shipping them, just selling locally.

very educational post love it-resteemed-will plant one or two for sure :)

Thank you that's very nice of you! Please do! You won't regret it!

ဒုန္း ဆား ပ လိ ေဖာ လိုး မီ

So you have to get messy to get the healthy ones

They're all healthy, but the better tasting ones are the red and black ones. :)

This post received a 4.2% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @vegansilverstack! For more information, click here!