Planting (Edible) Katuk Seedlings

This morning I wrote a post about finding little Katuk seedlings underneath the Katuk plants I have and about why you should grow Katuk which you can read here: https://steemit.com/homesteading/@vegansilverstack/what-is-katuk-why-should-you-grow-it. I'm pretty sure they are from months ago when I purposely dropped seeds underneath the plants to see if they would grow. It just took that long.

So I carefully dug them up, trying not to damage their sensitive little roots and replanted some of them.

FullSizeRender_2.jpg

Two in little pots with good potting soil (pretty sure they will make it)

FullSizeRender_1.jpg

Two more in the ground (might make it - probably will as well - in a shady spot because Katuk loves water and shade)

FullSizeRender.jpg

IMG_2197.JPG

IMG_2196.JPG

I did this so that all of the Katuk don't get crowded when they begin to mature. (They would in nature but I want to have the best possible outcome here so yeah!)

If you don't know what Katuk is you should read my article I left as a link at the top of this post and here it is again: https://steemit.com/homesteading/@vegansilverstack/what-is-katuk-why-should-you-grow-it It's a really great tasting edible leaf (I like it way better than spinach).

Hope you enjoyed Steemians! See you soon (I post too often) haha!

@vegansilverstack

Hansen's Gift.gif

Sort:  

Very intresting buddy, never had them before, what do the taste like? You gotta get your posts in now school starts back soon. Keep stacking my friend.

Katuk tastes like a cross from a green pea and a peanut haha if you can imagine that. Yeah, you're right! I will probably only post a couple of times per day when school rolls around - and I saw the Back To School section at Walmart the other day and I sighed haha! Thanks my friend, you too!

It's so fun watching stuff grow! Never heard of those before. I grew weed in my closet once. Wife won't allow that now 😞 lifes tough

Lol isn't it legal there? Up to a certain amount?

thanks - never heard of it before! Not sure if it would survive our winters.

Probably not if you have to think about it lol. BC? Nah, it's a subtropical/tropical - you have a greenhouse?

Yeah, zone 8, can sometimes be pushed to 9. Can probably do as an annual.

This post received a 2.7% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @vegansilverstack! For more information, click here!