What is Katuk? Why should you grow it?

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

IMG_2185.JPG

Good morning Steemians, I wanted to direct your attention to a plant known as "Katuk" in English, Latin name Sauropus androgynus.

Here is some information I took from wikipedia regarding Katuk.

Screen Shot 2017-07-07 at 8.51.08 AM.png

Now I woke up this morning and saw that underneath each of my Katuk plants, there were little tiny ones growing! This is my theory on what happened there: Last time each of them went to seed, which was months ago, I took some of the seeds and planted them around the base of each Katuk.

I noticed that they are going to seed again right now, and figured there's no way that these little Katuks could've grown from this season's seeds. Another thought of mine was that maybe they just sent little shoots up from the root system.

I honestly think it's the former that's what's happened here, but I'm not 100% sure. Anyway here are the photos, first I will show the main Katuk plant, followed by it's respective base with the little ones:

Katuk #1

IMG_2184.JPG

IMG_2189.JPG

Katuk #2

IMG_2185.JPG

IMG_2188.JPG

Katuk #3 (Variegated!)

IMG_2186.JPG

IMG_2187.JPG

Pretty cool, right?!

My thought is that I could dig up the baby ones and transfer them to another area so that I could have more Katuk and there wouldn't be so many Katuk in one spot, stepping over each other.

This bit of information was taken from http://edibleplantproject.org/katuk/.

Screen Shot 2017-07-07 at 9.05.04 AM.png

Now that you know a little bit more about this pea-tasting edible leafy green, you can make a decision on whether or not you decide to grow it! I've found most fortune planting it in shady areas, but I've heard it can grow in sunny spots, but needs a lot of water if you do that.

Hope you enjoyed! Thanks for stopping by!

@vegansilverstack

Hansen's Gift.gif

Sort:  

It tastes like a delicious grass... Seriously. Lol

Hey @vegansilverstack! That was a great post! Very informative, I was delighted to learn about katuk, I had never heard of it before! Upvoted! Also, I want to take this moment to invite you to share such content in the herbarium we are compiling here on Steemit. It's the first herbarium ever supported by blockchain technology! Posts like this one would be great contributions, if you are interested, simply use the "herbarium" tag, that's it! I hope to see you amongst our contributors! Have a good day!

This post received a 4.7% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @vegansilverstack! For more information, click here!