COSTA RICA'S SUSTAINABLE MOVEMENT How to divert tourism into promoting ecological sustainability.

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

P1030452.JPG

This remarkable experience is worth sharing with all of you!

In 2014, I travelled to Costa Rica in search of a potential exchange of sustainable development work.

I arrived in the town of Monteverde, in the north-west part of Costa Rica and found a unique coffee farm run by a man named Guillermo Vargas
This man ended up opening my eyes, mind and heart to a whole new perspective and inevitably changed the intention of my direction in life.

18813262_10100210213048446_8099006967439250487_n.jpg

The farm is called Life Monteverde

Their main objective is to promote their coffee production through an ecological sustainable platform. Tourism can play a double-edge sword role within the cultural boundaries of a given country and can create vicious circles of economic dependencies, in addition to waging risks in leaving negative footprints, both ecologically and socially.

Guillermo Vargas endeavoured to shed light into matters of conscious minded tourism and divert it into a means of promoting the concept of sustainable development.
One of the projects I worked on focused on the advantages of in-depth complementary planting. We chose to use castor oil beans and plant them in between coffee bushes, given that their function as nitrogen fixers can be very useful to the soil and coffee tree, in addition to the eventual shade provided by the castor oil beans once they grew in size.

Companion Planting

castor oil beans.jpg

Biodigestor Engineering

At the time I was not yet informed on the multiple means to produce your own fuel with organic recycled material and by doing so generating sufficient gas to cover daily consumption such as cooking and heating. To me, it meant another step forward to becoming self-sustainable, whilst leaving as little ecological footprint as possible. A previous student at LIFE Monteverde had set-up a biodigestor, running on pig manure, contained within a sealed infrastructure with a pipe allowing the risen gas to travel to the main living space within the farm. This biodigestor fueled an estimated 6 hours of gas per day with manure provided from only 2 adult pigs. If you are comfortable and are interested in a diversified farm structure, one which includes animal husbandry, this is one possible way of symbiotically living with them.

P1030322.JPG

Lastly

At LIFE Monteverde, I gained significant experience in meeting people from all corners of the world, in search for means to help bring about change in this given paradigm of conventional agriculture. There are feasible measures to be taken with the power of tourism, one which can raise awareness and enable direct implication.

If you ever find yourself in Central America, possibly even in Costa Rica and searching for a different cultural experience, one that will help both the country you are visiting and yourself, please do not hesitate to give this farm a try. It changed me undoubtedly and who knows, it might open some beautiful doors for you as well.

Here is the link to the farm and Facebook page:

https://cafedemonteverde.com/life-monteverde/
https://www.facebook.com/lifemonteverde/

Share love, knowledge and compassion!!
Hugs,

Bagheera

P1030202.JPG
costa.jpg

Sort:  

There is a small Costa Rican community growing up if you like to join us. I'm happy that you had such a great experience in my country. Monteverde is beautiful and there are some other permaculture farms and projects going. Renewable energy is also exploding in recent years.

Oh sure, if you can give me some more information about this project in costa rica i would appreciate it! Warm hugs!!

Good job! Thanks to @raserrano you have planted 0.59 tree to save Abongphen Highland Forest in Cameroon. Help me to plant 1,000,000 trees and share my Steem Power to the others. Selfvoting is prohibited, but that should be the reason to spread the world to protect our precious environment. Check out profile of our conservation association @kedjom-keku and the founder/coordinator @martin.mikes to get more information about our conservation program. My current SP is 18376.72. Help me to plant more trees with your delegated SP.

Thanks a lot,
your @treeplanter
www.kedjom-keku.com

Woah...wonderful news!!!! How amazing is that? We are always constantly aware of the necessity to plant trees in our area. I will follow your page!

Hi @vvanamaria. What a wonderful post to bring us closer to Guillermo Vargas approach of sustainable and most likely even regenerative agriculture. Thank you so much! Reminds me of Willie Smith's Village Hubs.

Thank for sharing additional information :) I am definitely interested in these movements, the more the better! <3

Upvote my post and follow my channel so I can do same

https://steemit.com/@rafalklimsiak

If you want me to upvote your post make sure to add hashtag

#upvoteforupvote

Great post I am very drawn to Costa Rica soon I will visit. Maybe even here now ! 💯🐒

My husband and I are always looking for new ways to power the homestead we are working to build. The biodigestor sounds right up our alley. Thanks for sharing! -Aimee

Thanks! Yes this biodigestor is really something eh? More things pushing us towards sustainable living! It's all possible, the innovations are there, it's just a matter of implementation. Blessings xxx

I missed the voting window for your article so I am upvoting your comment instead. I look forward to seeing what else you share about sustainability in the future. -Aimee